So Long, IRS?

Here is another online joke, although I don’t know the author to give a proper attribution. But, in America, today is “the day” to have in our tax returns. Oh, wouldn’t it be great if we could enjoy all the benefits of our governments without needing to support them? Despite disagreeing with many of America’s financial policies, I am grateful to live in a country where people can run for election without getting mysteriously murdered. I am deeply grieved for the moral failures enabled by our freedoms, but I’m thankful for the great freedoms of choice we have, and I believe these freedoms are God-given. Painful as it is, God created us with free wills, and most of the horrifying evils as well as the inspiring goods we see in the world around us are because we, the people, have been allowed freedom to choose. I also believe heaven will be a place where we still have freedom of choice, but we will be like Jesus and always make right choices.

“Father, the hour has come. Glorify Your Son, that Your Son also may glorify You, as You have given Him authority over all flesh, that He should give eternal life to as many as You have given Him. And this is eternal life, that they may know You, the only true God, and Jesus Christ whom You have sent” (John 17:1-3).

2 thoughts on “So Long, IRS?

  1. I hear you. The atrocities of free will break my heart. Jesus surely must be heartbroken as well.

Please share your thoughts too!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.