Through a Glass, Darkly

Have you ever noticed that you can memorize—and even quote—certain verses from the Bible for years, and then suddenly one day they’ll take on a deeper meaning when you experience them? This happened to me the other night in respect to the verse at the end of 1 Corinthians 13 (the chapter that characterizes love): “For now we see through a glass, darkly; but then face to face: now I know in part; but then shall I know even as also I am known” (I Corinthians 13:12).

It’s now late autumn, and here in Michigan it gets dark before supper. As the last rays of sunset illuminated our back yard, our son Daniel and his family stopped by to drop off dinner for us.

Due to COVID concerns (and my recent surgery), Alan thought it better to just greet them without inviting them in to eat with us, but the children had made special cards and wanted to at least see their grandma to make sure she was okay.

After all, the last time they visited, we’d had a pretty rousing game of basketball together, so it was a little hard for them to imagine my going from feeling great to wrapped in blankets on the couch!

They couldn’t see me from the front windows, and so Alan brought them around through the back, where they could enter a side door to our three-season “tea room.” It was cold, and gloomy shadows were beginning to gather, but they could peer through the french doors to see me snug on the couch by the fireplace. I waved like crazy, and they danced around in excitement. Elanor was wearing a beautiful blue dress, and Samuel was beaming. It made my heart leap for joy to see their energy and love.

Samuel Shooting Hoops (by his mom, Brianna)

The words of 1 Corinthians 13:12 sprang to my mind. I could see my children through a glass, darkly . . . someday we’d be face-to-face in the bright sunshine. So it is with our dear heavenly Father. Right now, we can only see in part and know in part, but the day will come when we can be in God’s presence forever. No more Alice Through the Looking Glass! No more precious grandchildren peering through the window panes! No more COVID. No more darkness. No more replaced hips! All will be light and love! What a day that will be!

Please share your thoughts too!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.