Resurrection Friendships

Finally, from the inkwell of Jane’s heart…schuler-books-chapbook-cafe-by-jane-andersonIn 1997 I started a new job. To be honest, when the recruiter called and told me I was ‘in’ at Steelcase, I thought I should ask him to check his notes because I was sure he had the wrong person. As it turned out, there was no case of mistaken identity, the job was mine.

It seems like ancient history, doesn’t it? But can we talk about that for a minute? Relationships from back then became lasting friendships that still touch my heart. Just for a minute, think about the threads of your past and how they have woven the pattern of who you are today. Some exquisitely beautiful and others look like the warped mistakes that they were. The pattern of your life.

It’s been over 20 years since I accepted that job and immersed myself in work and friendships. Today, I went to Chapbook Cafe at a local bookstore, where I was meeting with a group of new friends. As I pulled into the parking lot my heart felt like it was melting. You see, my thoughts were on the last time I sat at a table in the cafe as my dearest friend told me her doctor had just diagnosed melanoma and it looked terminal. I remember thinking how wrong that doctor was. Cathy was healthy, she took care of herself, and besides, I needed her at work. Cathy didn’t know it, but she was an answer to my prayer.

I’m not sure what deep source has caused it, but I have always felt out of place. I could have worked on the road crew or throwing luggage at the airport or stocking shelves or in the offices where work seemed to find me. I never seemed to fit. In my daily quiet time, I would plead my case to God and ask him to take me – a round peg, and put me in a round hole. Instead, he put me, a round peg, into a square hole – and you can only imagine how it felt to have my edges sheared off in trying to fit into that shape. OK – so maybe it was my way of looking at it. But in my prayers, I asked God over and over for a good friend at work. A friend about my age, a girl, not a guy, who shared my values, and, “Please, God, let her have a sense of humor because I need a friend to tell me when I’m being stupid and laugh about it with me.”

Cathy was that friend for me. We would make a rule that we would only go out to lunch once a week, then break all the rules and go three times or four times on really stressful weeks. Cathy was amazingly intelligent. If I had to pay for what I learned from her, I would still be paying off what I owed her. She was also wise, and that goes beyond smart. I know we become like who we hang out with. I hope that’s true because I admired the person Cathy was.

Cathy’s favorite place for lunch was Chapbook Cafe where she could indulge in a double mocha. After her passing, I couldn’t bring myself to go to Schuler’s Bookstore or the cafe, until today. When I ordered my latte it was with fond memories of my friend and the short two years I held her friendship close to my heart.

We don’t know how much time we have with people we love. If we lived 120 years, it wouldn’t be enough. Cathy and I shared the same values and the same interests, but the one thing we shared that is more important than any other thing between us, was faith in Jesus Christ. Psalm 40:16 says,”May all who search for you be filled with joy and gladness in you. May those who love your salvation repeatedly shout, ‘The Lord is great!'”

Today I am thankful for friendships that never fail. Most of all I am thankful for salvation that lasts forever and that I will see my friend again in heaven because she had faith in Jesus Christ and her home is eternal.

(Guest author: Jane Anderson. Thank you for crossing this sad barrier to join us; we’re blessed to have you! I’ve not been able to bring myself to go to a Biggby Coffee cafe since losing my partner in lattes to breast cancer a few years ago, so I empathize! More of Jane’s writing can be found at: http://bizcatalyst360.com/ or http://talkkindnesstome.com )

One response to “Resurrection Friendships

  1. Charylene Powers

    Jane, I joined the writing group after the lose of our son. Writing is very soothing for the soul. Welcome!

Please share your thoughts too!

