Trip Notes on an ArtPrize Journey

from-the-rising-of-the-sun-lots-of-kids-visit      If you’re thinking about ArtPrize 9, I’d like to encourage you to go for it, early-visitors-to-artprizeeven though last Friday marked the end of this year’s ArtPrize 8 adventure for me, and I feel a bit like my husband used to after a camping trip to Disney with our kids when they were young.hanging-the-mural-for-artprize For about the first week, he’d say, “NEVER AGAIN!” But, slowly he’d regain his energy, forget the problems, and remember all the joys on the journey. Within a month or two, he’d be daydreaming about our next big adventure. artprize-8-mural-installed-in-back-lobby-of-holiday-innThis has been my reaction to ArtPrize also. My mural didn’t win any awards, nor did anybody find it an indispensable addition to the decor of their institution.silvio-reinstalling-collagesSo, my trusty builder friend, Silvio, helped me bring all twenty collages home, and he’s hung them up to brighten Tanglewood Cottage. hanging-collages-at-homeThe last time our home decor was updated was twenty-three years ago when we moved to GR…so it’s about time for a facelift anyway.

variegated-rose-copy    Also…I’m already dreaming about a next possible project for ArtPrize 9!   🙂  artzprize-8-kathryn-w-armstrongs-mural-being-installed-at-the-holiday-inn        Am I discouraged? No. Wouldn’t it have been great to win? Of course. artprize-8-installation Was it worth all the effort? You bet!
trump-visits-artprizeAll sorts of people come to ArtPrize from everywhere!
larry-and-kari-visitingI talked to literally hundreds of people, including lots of friends.groups-of-school-children-visit-artprize-8and dozens of groups of school children.friends-stopping-by-kathryn-w-armstrongs-mural-for-artprize-8 Friends stopped by to encourage me, lisas-family-visits-artprizemany bringing members of their family whom I’d never met before.bonnie-visits-artprize-8Some friends brought friends while I was gone and left me sweet pictures! young-friends-visiting-artprizeChildren of friends stopped by with their school groups, kathi-with-old-and-new-friendssome bringing new young friends to meet me!julie-and-melissa-at-artprize I even had cousins from out of town visit, childhood-friend-at-artprize-8and I reconnected with some folks that I hadn’t seen since childhood! artprize-8Visitors took about 1,500 business cards (with John 3:16-17 on the back)joel-and-trevor-at-artprize-8 and over a thousand flyers.

from-the-rising-of-the-sun-artprize-8So, if you’ve got artistic creativity bubbling up inside, may I encourage you to go for it? Even if you don’t win a prize, you “win” in friendships, and you might be able to invest in the happiness of others. Besides all that, who knows? You could possibly end up with something you’ll treasure for your own home. 🙂

Want to know what my flyers said? Here it is:from-the-rising-of-the-sun“From the Rising of the Sun”

Einstein put it this way: “I’m not an atheist, and I don’t think I can call myself a pantheist. We are in the position of a little child entering a huge library filled with books in many languages. The child knows someone must have written those books. It does not know how. It does not understand the languages in which they are written. The child dimly suspects a mysterious order in the arrangement of the books but doesn’t know what it is. That, it seems to me, is the attitude of even the most intelligent human being toward God. We see the universe marvelously arranged and obeying certain laws but only dimly understand these laws.”

My mural is one such tiny library of God’s works, initially inspired by the most glorious sunrise I’ve ever seen over my cozy lake home here in Grand Rapids. It was September 18, 2013, the first day of ArtPrize 5. Deep pinks reflected from the sky, shimmering across the lily pads and setting our lake ablaze with color. I ran outside and took dozens of photographs, thinking to myself, “This sunrise is God’s ArtPrize entry! He is the most magnificent artist of all, and nothing will compare with what He’s done.” Later, while enjoying all the creativity at ArtPrize with two of my closest friends, one of them asked spontaneously, “If you ever entered ArtPrize, what would you do?” None of the three of us had ever talked (or thought) about entering ArtPrize before, but it struck a chord in me. I answered without even thinking: “I’d make a collage of photographs trying to capture the rapture I felt this morning. I wish I could bring ‘God’s ArtPrize entry’ to ArtPrize!”

It’s taken three years of dreaming, praying, sorting, developing, and anguishing to bring to birth what eventually became a deep passion: to share the best of my photographed visual experiences as a gift to you. I searched my 180,000-photo collection, gathered from around the world over the past thirty years, and made a mural that I hope will fill you with the same warmth and wonder I’ve felt while drinking in the beauty of our great earth.

The title of the mural comes from Psalm 113:3, “From the rising of the sun unto the going down of the same, the Lord’s name is to be praised.” I’ve read that 99 percent of Americans report feeling some spiritual awareness and 84 percent claim religious affiliation worldwide, but if you came from a background anything like mine (with an atheistic father and an agnostic mother), you may not immediately go from experiencing the transcendence of beauty to worshiping the Creator.

The transition from believing in a Creator to worshiping the Lord came to me in a flash when I heard the gospel for the first time. The gospel is the good news that God is Light, Love, and Life. I’d never heard John 3:16–17 before: “For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life. For God sent not his Son into the world to condemn the world; but that the world through him might be saved.” I was overwhelmed by the thought that God loved me personally, sinful and imperfect as I was (and still am) . . . that He loved me so much He sent his uniquely begotten, holy Son to earth to live a perfect, sinless life and die in my place to pay the price for my sins. This same Son, Jesus Christ, not only died, He rose again after three days, proving to the world that He has the power to give everlasting life to all who will believe in him and accept his gift of salvation, freely given to us but paid for by the precious blood of Jesus, the “Lamb of God.”

God makes this offer to each of us! If you’d like to know more, please ask me or visit my blog, “Summer Setting,” at kathrynwarmstrong.wordpress.com. I pray that you experience all of God’s best at ArtPrize 8!

 

Please share your thoughts too!

