A Love Affair with Veggies: Crush on Coleslaw

cold-slawDid you know that in America today more than a third of the adult population (35.7%) is obese? That’s terribly unhealthy. I’m pretty sure anybody who wants to be healthy and not overweight needs to develop a good relationship with vegetables. I wouldn’t say you have to fall in love with them, but—for an example—I’ve noticed three things about South Koreans compared to Americans: Hiking in colorful garb seems to be a national passion (at least in South Korea), second only to their universal love of kimchi (stores are loaded with huge bins of huge cabbages, and everybody seems to have some kimchi pots sitting around), and best of all, their obesity rate is about 1/10th that of Americans. Moral of story? Take hike up mountain and eat lots of kimchi.  🙂    If you’re not a fan of the distinctive flavor of kimchi, you might try some home made coleslaw…not the commercially prepared types (which can have close to 300 calories in a cup), but the type you make at home that has a greater proportion of cabbage (44 calories per cup) than mayonnaise (94 calories per tablespoon). Cabbage is one of the world’s best bangs for the buck; relatively speaking, it’s high in Vitamin C, dietary fiber, folic acid, calcium, and even protein (with a host of other vitamins and minerals to boot). My family really likes coleslaw, but since I’ve started trying to have a healthier lifestyle, I’ve been serving it more often and therefore experimenting with new ways to “dress it up” so nobody gets bored. The basic recipe is something like this:

3 cups shredded cabbage (± some shredded carrots too)
2 T. (tablespoons) mayonnaise
1 T. Wishbone (or any other) Italian dressing (or no mayonnaise but 3 T. vinegar and oil dressing of your preference)
1 T. sugar (makes the medicine go down; but can be left out)
1/4 t. (teaspoon) Lawry’s (or any other) seasoning salt
Spices to taste: onion powder, garlic powder, salt, and pepper

If  you want to change things up a bit, here are a few of my favorite additives:  cold-slaw-with-pickles-and-pickled-peppers*Finely chopped dill pickle slices and pickled sweet pepper (that combo is my  personal favorite, but other pickled items like capers, olives, and pimentos are really good too)

*Fruits and nuts:
Fruits: Clementine sections (can use mandarin oranges, but they’re more caloric), pineapple, apples, pears, dried cherries (or other chopped fruits like dates or apricots, although dried fruits are quite caloric)
Nuts: Pecans, walnuts, almonds, cashews, pistachios

*Other finely chopped raw veggie options to add: broccoli, avocado, celery, onion, cucumber, red or green pepper

As usual, the options are legion, so I hope you let your imagination run wild and test all sorts of different combinations. As an (obvious) general rule of thumb: If you like something by itself, you’ll probably like the taste points in your salad. If you try it and find some new combination that you like, please share it with the rest of us, will you?

Happy eating!

Two things have I required of thee; deny me them not before I die: Remove far from me vanity and lies: give me neither poverty nor riches; feed me with food convenient for me: Lest I be full, and deny thee, and say, Who is the Lord? or lest I be poor, and steal, and take the name of my God in vain.”
(Proverbs 30:7-9)

 

2 responses to “A Love Affair with Veggies: Crush on Coleslaw

  1. I’m eating (now crunching) red pepper and hummus…I wonder how hummus with the dash (or dollop) of horseradish would go with finely chopped cabbage would be?? Yum!

    On Sat, Oct 1, 2016 at 12:01 PM, Summer Setting wrote:

    > Kathi posted: “Did you know that in America today more than a third of the > adult population (35.7%) is obese? That’s terribly unhealthy. I’m pretty > sure anybody who wants to be healthy and not overweight needs to develop a > good relationship with vegetables. I wouldn’t s” >

Please share your thoughts too!

