Zootopia: Can Utopian Dreams Come True?

zootopiaBy now, probably everybody and their bunny have seen Zootopia, but it was so cute that I want to write about it anyway in case you missed watching because you thought it was just a Disney movie for kids. It is that, but Zootopia is much more. It’s complicated, and I think it will be a classic.

Zootopia looks into racism and stereotyping, and there’s definitely a call to understand and value everybody, whether they’re rabbits or foxes, but the overarching theme is about living your dreams, and that’s a salient topic for all of us regardless of our age. The question it raises is: Are you willing to live your dream, even though it’s going to be hard?

Am I? Are you? What is your dream? Have you thought about it lately?

Recently, I’ve being conversing with a friend who’s been dear to me for over 45 years. Not long ago, he left his wife to begin a new life. “Coming out” I think it’s called. Because this person (and his wife) mean so much to me, I’m trying to understand what motivates such behavior.

Although I might be wrong, my guess is that most of us who are in heterosexual relationships and have been married more than a few years have gone through one or more cycles of feeling like the marriage was no longer (or perhaps never) fulfilling, and that life might be greener on the other side of some fence. I’ve heard people joke that married people are like flies: Those who are in want out, and those who are out want in.

I am thankful for my marriage, and I don’t mean to disparage marriage, but I will say that I’ve struggled a lot at times in my marriage, and if I thought I could somehow (anyhow) absolve myself from my commitment to marriage, I’m sure I would have quit at some point along the way. Marriage is tough. It isn’t always fulfilling. It’s probably never “the dream” that we imagine it’s going to be before we get married.

If we want to “live the dream,” then we’d better make sure our dreams are rooted in reality, and we need to be visionary so we can recognize our dream when it’s broken and becomes a different stained glass design from what we imagined. In a zootopian utopia, perhaps a bunny can become a cop (especially if teamed up with a wiley fox), but in this world’s present dystopia, I think the only implausibly possible dreams that come true are those backed by the steady hand of God, who can actually make “all things possible.”

Got a dream? Can you open your hand and give it to God? If it’s a good dream, He can make it come to life. If it’s not a good dream, He can help you let it go and show you the dream He’s dreaming for you. His dreams are best anyway! May we search and find the place where our dreams meet God’s dream for us.

“Therefore, I urge you, brothers and sisters, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and pleasing to God—this is your true and proper worship. Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will” (Romans 12:1-2, NIV).

 

6 responses to “Zootopia: Can Utopian Dreams Come True?

  1. You know – the article I was trying to complete yesterday was this topic “stained glass design”. I have tears over my dream. I’m not even sure what it is anymore. Thank you, Kathi – maybe I need to go rent this movie.

    • You probably know the insights from the movie (although it is really cute). Thankfully, I know the plans God has for both of us…to become like his Son. And, I see so much of Jesus in you that I know His dreams are being fulfilled. The broken glass still hurts, though. I’ve shed many tears over my own broken dreams!

  2. Wonderful WORD in right due season!
    Many thanksgivings,all thankfulness for mercy grace & lovingkindness that you obeyed & worked your faith by LOVE to get all this through to us.
    Currently I am fighting through not having a family(being divorced),no real TRUE friends,no ministry fellowship.Reminding me of holy apostle John,I’m in The Spirit,on the Island of the innocent!
    I am being confronted with spirits you wrote of.
    Do mention GeraDessiel Simon,holy apostle much in your fervent prayers,already fighting being labeled as an “offender” ,which never stops being a punishment.
    Mercy,grace,joy
    my LOVE be with you & yours in Christ.

  3. Then some of the flies who are in … do fly around to see if there is something sweet it can reach through the fence

Please share your thoughts too!

