Bend Over Peaches and Bend Over Friendships

Riding the Fruit Loop ExpressHave you ever eaten “bend over” peaches?Peaches on peach tree I don’t even know what their real name is or what variety they are,Green Bluff WA but while visiting Jon and Linda in Spokane, Washington,Waiting for the Fruit Loop Express. Green Bluff WAwe went to Beck’s Harvest House in Green Bluff to pick peaches, Country Store at Beck's Harvest Houseand the guide told us they had Red Havens, White Havens, Country Market at Beck's Harvest Houseand “bend over” peaches. PIcking PeachesWe ended up getting a mix of all three types.Little Girl helping make peach piesThe Red Havens and White Havens make perfect pies, but for sheer yumminessMaking pies with Grandmaif you’re going to eat them fresh, my vote goes to the bend over peaches.

Peaches in sunshineBend over peaches are the sweetest and best. They melt in your mouth and can only be eaten outside or over a sink, because the juice runs down your arms, and if you don’t bend over, your clothes inevitably get stained!

Girl blowing dandelion seedsSince coming home, I’ve been thinking about
how our sweetest and best relationships also require bending over. Family hugsWe reach out, but we also need to bend over…sometimes backward.
(Jon and Gerlinde’s family really bent over backwards to make us feel loved!)Grandpa blowing on dandelionIn order to truly express love to others, we meet them where they are, and almost none of us are exactly the same height—physically or spiritually! Right? Girl blowing dandelionTo know someone well, it takes the exercise of all our senses
(physically and spiritually) to engage with them:  Little girl looking at rosesTo see them clearly, Children loving their new baby sisterto express love through touch, Playing with baby's toes to hear them and have fun with them, Lady smelling rosesto experience their fragrance, Empathyand empathize with their pains…Little girl feeding sheepand that usually includes bending over to get closer! Mother helping daughter with readingI wonder how many times I’ve failed to bend over backward
to express love in my friendships. Playing in peas at Beck's Harvest HouseI wonder how many times I’ve gotten “stained” because I didn’t even understand that I should bend, or because I was too proud or inflexible to be willing to bend.Little girl playing in dried peas I wonder how much I miss of the Lord by not humbly reveling in his goodness, bending my heart to Him and my will to His. He is the best and sweetest friend!Little girl at drinking fountain “O taste and see that the Lord is good:
blessed is the man that trusteth in him” (Psalm 34:8).

4 responses to “Bend Over Peaches and Bend Over Friendships

  1. Lovey photos. I hope to go there too, Kathy. Linda told me that you made a great pie! Sorry I missed it.

    • I remember pictures of your picking peaches with them from a previous visit. There must be plums or apples ready about now. Wish we could have figured out a way to overlap a little, but I’m so thankful for all the time you and Christophe are spending helping them out! We’re praying for you all. XOXOXO

  2. Charylene Powers

    I love this post – favorite line “In order to truly express love to others, we meet them where they are, and almost none of us are exactly the same height – physically or spiritually.”

Please share your thoughts too!

