Thoughts on Success and Leadership

U.S. Capitol Building. Feb. 2016Reflecting on the movie Rise, it occurred to me that Mack Lindon “rose” from the pit of prison by persevering and living well, and it appears to me that he’s made a success of his life. So, today I want to share a few more thoughts on how to become a success, both personally and professionally.

“To succeed in life you need three things: A wishbone, a backbone, and a funny bone” (I don’t know who penned this, but isn’t it good?)

“If at first you don’t succeed … welcome to the club.”~Israel Harold Asper

“Success is not final, failure is not fatal: it is the courage to continue that counts.” ~Winston Churchill

“I suppose leadership at one time meant muscles; but today it means getting along with people.” ~Indira Gandhi

“Nothing ever becomes real until it is experienced. Even a proverb is no proverb until your life has illustrated it.” ~John Keats

“Leadership can’t be claimed like luggage at the airport. Leadership can’t be inherited, even though you may inherit a leadership position. And leadership can’t be given as a gift — even if you’ve been blessed with an abundance of leadership skills to share with someone else. Leadership must be earned by mastering a defined set of skills and by working with others to achieve common goals.” ~David Cottrell

“Destiny is not a matter of chance, it is a matter of choice. It is not a thing to be waited for, it is a thing to be achieved.” ~William Jennings Bryan

“Those who dare to fail miserably can achieve greatly.” ~John F. Kennedy

“Success is the dynamic collision of an ordinary moment and an unyielding motivation.” ~Chris Novak

“Things turn out best for the people who make the best of the way things turn out.” ~John Wooden

“It isn’t what you have, or who you are, or where you are, or what you are doing that makes you happy or unhappy. It is what you think about.” ~Dale Carnegie

“We are not here to merely make a living. We are here to enrich the world, and we impoverish ourselves if we forget this errand.” ~ Woodrow Wilson

“If I really want to improve my situation, I can work on the one thing over which
I have control — myself.” ~Stephen Covey

In the King James Version of the Bible, the word “success” is only used once, but for me personally, it’s been key to my conception of what true success is: “This book of the law shall not depart out of thy mouth; but thou shalt meditate therein day and night, that thou mayest observe to do according to all that is written therein: for then thou shalt make thy way prosperous, and then thou shalt have good success” (Joshua 1:8).

One response to “Thoughts on Success and Leadership

  1. Charylene Powers

    “If I really want to improve my situation, I can work on the one thing over which I have control – myself.” Stephen Covey Love this quote

Please share your thoughts too!

