Learning to Convey Respect

Frog Parking.I initially wrote today’s post using some images Dis Humorshared by friends on Facebook that reminded me of  “life in these United States,”Definition of Musician from WOLF fmTeachers DM 2but what my age-mates and I thought of as humorous commentary on life was not considered appropriate by the younger generation, so I’m trying again.

Mother and SonI’ve just started working my way through a book called Mother and Son; The Respect Effect, by Emerson Eggerichs, on “What every mom needs to recognize in her son,” and it dawned on me that I need this book much more than the author needs me to publicize it, because I clearly do not understand how to convey the respect I feel to my grown children! When I’ve finished the book, I’ll tell you what I learned (and they gave me an extra copy to share if you’re in the market), but meanwhile, if you have children, I’d like you to join me in pondering this question: Am I giving my children the respect they deserve? RespectIf you and your kids are at a stage where you’re constantly disagreeing, then you may not even feel a lot of respect for them at the moment, but I believe God wants us to treat everyone with respect, following the example of Christ. I used to think that respect had to be earned, but Christ didn’t disparage anyone, not even the woman caught in adultery or the thief on the cross. He expressed anger and confronted evil, but he still treated people with dignity, and he himself always retained his own dignity, even when he was dying on the cross.  Love Quote by PigletOn the other hand, if you admire your kids as much as I admire mine, and you get along well with them, then it’s probably not so much whether or not you feel respect for them, but whether or not you’re able to convey that respect in a meaningful way to them. That’s where I’m at, and that’s what I’m trying to learn. Sometimes it’s not just what’s in the heart that counts, it’s learning to speak the language of the person you love, and for men, I hear that language is spelled R.E.S.P.E.C.T. (which is not as natural to a woman as L.O.V.E.).  Ann LandersDo you find yourself concerned about your relationships with your kids? Join the club. But, just remember this, our adult offspring deserve not only our love, but our sincerest respect, and if we love them, we need to learn how to convey that respect to them in ways they understand.

“Behold, God is mighty, and despiseth not any:
he is mighty in strength and wisdom” (Job 36:5).

(The signs and photos are from internet forwards. If any of them belong to you, please let me know so I can credit you or remove them. Thanks.)

6 responses to “Learning to Convey Respect

  1. Very good, and needed…perhaps I *think* I’m being respectful, but is the other person really *feeling* it??

    On Thu, Jul 28, 2016 at 12:00 PM, Summer Setting wrote:

    > Kathi posted: “I initially wrote today’s post using some images shared by > friends on Facebook that reminded me of life around my house,this one by a > musician friend, and this one by a friend who teaches school, but what my > age-mates and I thought of as humorous comment” >

    • Exactly! I had a young friend tell me yesterday that she and her husband just returned from a couple’s weekend where they were taught to practice saying to each other after debating some issue: #1. “Do I have your heart?” (Did we connect emotionally as well as intellectually?) and #2. “Is there more?” (Did I get it all??) She pointed out that if we keep connected, we can disagree without losing our respect for and connection with our loved ones.

  2. Charylene Powers

    Put me on the list to read your extra copy – sounds like a good book to linger with.

  3. You’ve expressed struggles with your children in the past. With this new post, I renew my prayers for them!

    • Thank you so much! Please let me know if I can be praying for you about anything too. Praying for each other is one of the best ways we can bless and care for one another. God bless you!

Please share your thoughts too!

