A Short Essay on “The Book of Mormon”

-1I’m not part of the LGBTQ+ community, and I believe sex and gender are matters of birth and DNA, not just personal choice, but I do not ridicule the few LGBTQ+ folks I know, do you? In fact, it’s really not PC to do so, right? I’m not a part of the Mormon community, nor do I believe in the validity of their non-biblical doctrines and extra-biblical texts, which Joseph Smith claimed to have received from an angel back in 1823, but I don’t ridicule Mormons. Do you? I had a Messianic Jewish pastor once, whose father had been a rabbi. My pastor mentioned that when people discovered he was Jewish, they would tell him all their Jewish jokes. He would try to remain polite and kind, but on the inside, it broke his heart. I’m guessing that’s how Mormons must feel when people mock their religion.

I’ve not seen the musical which is all the rage now, The Book of Mormon, but I understand that it makes Mormons look ridiculous and is extremely sacrilegious. The few Mormons I know personally are like the few Muslims I know personally; they are gentle, good-willed, and seem to have a sincere desire to live peaceful, upright lives. Actually, I’ve noticed this about most people who truly believe in God, whether Buddhist, Hindu, Muslim, Jew, or Christian. If we have a disagreement with what someone believes, I think it’s okay to have a sincere discussion with them (if we know them well enough to have a discussion), but let’s not make a mockery of what others hold dear. And, above all, let’s reverence God in every context where his name is spoken!

You shall not misuse the name of the Lord your God, for the Lord will not hold anyone guiltless who misuses his name” (Exodus 20:7, NIV).

But among you there must not be even a hint of sexual immorality, or of any kind of impurity, or of greed, because these are improper for God’s holy people. Nor should there be obscenity, foolish talk or coarse joking, which are out of place, but rather thanksgiving. For of this you can be sure: No immoral, impure or greedy person—such a person is an idolater—has any inheritance in the kingdom of Christ and of God.(Ephesians 5:3-5)

Please share your thoughts too!

