The Birthday Club: Bike Rides and Covered Bridges

Fallasburg Covered BridgeOn my trip to France, I had a dream one night that our birthday club was seeing all the D-Day sites, and since that night I’ve become obsessively enamored
with the idea of writing a novel about our birthday club traveling the world. Photo of Three SistersHowever, I will state up front that if this book ever comes to pass, the characters will not reflect the persons of my two dear birthday buddies—absolutely and unequivocally—as I have a friend who wrote a book with a character suspiciously like me, of whom I did not at all approve, and so I wouldn’t want my real friends to disown me for misrepresentation.

Nona's Restaurant. Ada MIStill, the adventures we have on our birthday club outings are truly a blessing, and so I’ll share this spring’s adventure with you. Flat River GrillFor a starter, the two non-birthday members go into cahoots
planning a surprise for the birthday honoree, Ada Covered Bridgeand this time Cindi had two irresistibly bright ideas for spoiling Susan: Biking near Ada Covered Bridge MITo go for a bike ride,Birthday Club at Ada Covered Bridge and to visit two (of the only eight remaining) covered bridges in Michigan.

Flat River in Fallasburg County Park MIAlthough Alan and I spent years riding racing bikes together as the #1 event in our favorite Date Night Triathlon (followed by #2. soaking in a hot tub and #3. eating out), I haven’t been on a non-tandem bike in years, so riding brought me straight back to my childhood, and I came home telling Alan that we need to start biking again! (Big advantage of Birthday Club: Trying new [or old] things!)Lunch at Nona's in Ada MIThe second event in our Birthday Club Marathon was lunch at Nona’s in Ada, MI which has just opened a new restaurant. (Cindi’s daughter is working as a prep chef there this summer. The mushroom ravioli is awesome, just so you know!) The third event was touring the little village of Ada and their Tuesday Farmers’ Market (in the parking lot of Ada Community Church, where my son Stephen served as the pianist for several years). Ada County ParkI was riding my bike as inexpertly as a teen just learning to drive, so I didn’t dare bring along my camera. Therefore, most of the photos from Ada are compliments of Cindi’s photographic skills. (Thanks, Cindi!) We also biked through Ada Township Park and stopped to enjoy vistas of the Thornapple River from the Ada Covered Bridge.

Fallasburg Covered Bridge InformationAfter parking our bikes, we drove to the Fallasburgh Covered Bridge
along the Flat River near Lowell, MI, Fallasburg School Museum. MIwhere there are a number of old, historic buildings left from the mid 1800’s. Fishing at Fallasburg County Park MIIt was a perfect summer day, breezy and beautiful, and as we meandered along, Cindi read verses from the Scriptures to remind us that God “covers” us
and listens with tender affection to our prayers,
the way a loving Father attends his children. Verses on Covering(This was inspired by the “covered” bridge theme.) Dessert at the Flat River Grill. Ada. MIThe day ended with coffee and dessert at the Flat River Grill
and sharing some birthday presents, Sisters!but the sweetness of our fellowship and God’s love for us
has lingered past the sweetness of our dessert. Birthday GiftsTruly, God’s love is our best gift! He is our inheritance, our covering,
and our “exceeding great reward” (Genesis 15:1).Fallasburg Covered Bridge. Vergennes. MII will abide in thy tabernacle for ever: I will trust in the covert of thy wings.” (Psalm 61:4)

2 responses to “The Birthday Club: Bike Rides and Covered Bridges

  1. Charylene Powers

    Have you seen the other covered bridges? Post lovely

    • No, I don’t think so. Have you? Are any close and really pretty? I know there are dozens in some states, like Indiana and Pennsylvania.

Please share your thoughts too!

