Window Pains

Deer in lakeThe next best thing to being outside is looking outside, as far as I can tell. Impatiens by lake 6.16We live in the woods on a tiny lake, Racoon by dockand there are few things that give me more “simple pleasure”Delphinium 6.16 than being able to look through the window panes and see something lovely, Old Snageven if it’s just an old snag Sun filtering through trees on lakeor the sun filtering through the trees on his way up   Rabbit eating cloverto greet Bunny Bright Eyes, who’s outside nibbling clover on our front lawn.Geese on lake frontStephen, taking a week’s respite from his PhD studies in NY,
offered to wash our windows, which is even more of a great idea than I realized! IMG_5708It wasn’t until this morning that I really noticed just how dirty our windows are.Reflection in Glass Oh, I always notice that I have to watch my angle
or I’ll get a reflection of myself when shooting out a window, IMG_5731and I notice how the sunshine coming through the window casts reflections thatIMG_5755 are sometimes so compelling that I focus on the reflection more than the reality, IMG_5732or find my vision somewhat obscured. IMG_5754It can be very disorienting! Plants in front of windowThere can also be so many things going on inside that my vision gets blocked. MandevillaMy heart is like that too! Sometimes I’m busily working away, Rain on Mandevillathinking everything is fine and not really noticing that things are getting a bit dingy ( or vaguely conscious but not yet motivated to fix it), Robin feeding babiesand it takes an offer of help from the outside to set things right. Dirty Windows!Of course, there’s nothing like good, strong sunlight to reveal all the dirt! IMG_5706When I sense that my vision’s becoming blurry and my heart is pained,IMG_5719 or that I’m distracted and out of focus, Cross by windowit’s time to listen to the promptings of friends
and let the Holy Spirit wash the windows of my heart, Doe standing at water's edgeso I’ll have clear, bright vision again! Gold Finch singing in the tree topsSearch me, O God, and know my heart: try me, and know my thoughts: And see if there be any wicked way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.” (Psalm 139:23-24)

(Just in case you’re wondering, I’m a bit embarrassed to admit it, but I took all these photos out my windows over the past few days and this morning. Isn’t it amazing how clear and clean things can seem if we’re not focusing on them… until the Light shines just right?)

2 responses to “Window Pains

    • Thank you! Your “likes” and comments are such an encouragement to me! I still hope we get to meet sometime. Maybe when you get as far as Chicago to visit your daughter. 🙂

Please share your thoughts too!

