Our Quiet Winter Guest

garden-room-2015-winter-copyOur garden room brings a bit of summer into our home even in the winter, but this past winter I discovered we had a quiet little guest who’d taken up residence with us! MandevillaI have no idea how he managed to find his way in, but perhaps he was happily residing in our mandevilla and caught a ride when I brought it in for the winter. Winter HomeHowever he arrived, I never noticed him until snows had covered the ground and it seemed inhospitable to take him outdoors, although I worried that he might not find enough to eat. Frog sleeping on an orchidHowever, every once in a while I would see him hopping across the floor, climbing up a window, or happily curled up, sleeping on a plant, and so I guessed he was managing okay and perhaps even helping me keep down the mealy bug population. Toad in gardenAt any rate, I finally found him again this spring one rainy day and  took him outside to enjoy the bliss of a warm, wet world among the violets and lilies of the valleys unfurling in our garden, and he hopped away, seemingly no worse for the wear and ready to enjoy springtime.Frog on orchid I was relieved that he’d survived, but almost a little sorry to see him go, since although I was concerned about his welfare, I found myself looking forward to seeing him on occasion and always hoped he’d be comfortable enough in his unusual winter retreat.Mandevilla in rainI think animals and flowers are happiest outside in the fresh air and sunshine… and probably people are too, but I’m so thankful for my home as a safe shelter for  sleeping at night and a warm, dry protection against inclement weather! Toad in garden 2And, I was very glad to have been able to provide a little haven for our quiet little guest last winter! May he live to be 100.  🙂

“He prayeth best, who loveth best;
All things great and small;
For the dear God who loveth us;
He made and loveth all.”
(Samuel Taylor Coleridge, The Rime of the Ancient Mariner)

“All things bright and beautiful,
All creatures great and small,
All things wise and wonderful,
The Lord God made them all.

“He gave us eyes to see them,
And lips that we might tell,
How great is God Almighty,
Who has made all things well.”
(Mrs. Cecil Alexander’s Hymns for Little Children, 1848)

2 responses to “Our Quiet Winter Guest

  1. Charylene Powers

    I’m amazed you lasted the whole winter with your little guest – my hat off to you – I do not think I would have been as generous of spirit.

    • Well, I didn’t know what else to do! But, he really was an easy guest. I didn’t set out special food for him, and I didn’t see him very often. He’d appear and disappear for days and sometimes weeks at a time! I was very pleased that he survived, since we were often gone!

Please share your thoughts too!

