Ann Bjorlie’s Story: Miracles are Still Happening

Ann BjorlieDo you believe in miracles? Do you believe God answers prayer? I do, and yesterday as Ann (a spunky friend I’ve known for over 20 years) sat across from me in our tea room recounting what had happened to her recently, I knew it was a message that I wanted to share with you ASAP…like today! What happened? Well, her aorta burst, she bled out and was without oxygen for 15 minutes. Ann Recovered!And yet, she’s alive and well today!  The doctor told her that she was “one in a million,” but I think she was more than that, because no one at the hospital had ever known someone to survive this particular medical disaster. I believe it is an undeniable miracle!  There were a series of conditions that were unique and could have been circumstance, such as her surgeon being outside her room when she started throwing up blood, one of his colleagues who’d read all her charts was still in hospital (later evening), an anesthesiologist who worked with their team “just happened” to be at the hospital too, and an operating room “just happened” to be open and clean at that moment. But, the surgeon performed a surgery that had never been performed in that situation at that hospital before, with an outcome that not one person believed was possible (including my medical doctor husband). That’s a miracle in my book!Ann at HospitalThat’s the short of it; if you still have doubts and time to read the long of it, I think the details are well worth sharing. Ann was born with a congenital heart defect, but it wasn’t until January of 2015 that the problem became so severe she needed her aortic valve replaced. Ann recovered quickly, and we were all hopeful that she’d do just fine, but then, ten months later, she started having problems with being out of breath, feeling weak and losing blood. Her husband took her into the ER at Spectrum Hospital (here in GR), where they kept her overnight. I’ll let her pick up the story in her own words here:
     “Wednesday morning [December 2] began a battery of tests. I actually do not remember much from that day except having a CT scan. In the afternoon I encouraged John to go to prayer meeting for supper. He went and stayed for the meeting as well. Just as he got back, Dr. Fanning came and began to tell us I had a fistula that was touching my esophagus and dripping blood into my throat, which is why I was having black stools. Then he proceeded to tell us that they do not do surgery to repair this in Spectrum, so I’d have to go to Cleveland Clinic! He had talked with his colleagues and they simply would not assist him in such a risky surgery that had never been done at this hospital. He was obviously disturbed and was trying to let us know how serious this was. He told us that recovery in Cleveland is a month long, etc. Then, he stepped out with a phone call before we could ask any questions. We hardly knew what to ask as we were shocked at this news. Almost as soon as he left, John said, “Let’s pray.” He asked the Lord to raise me up like He did Dorcas. We cannot remember if I prayed. I think I just said “Amen” to his prayer as I was too emotional to pray. I know exactly what I would have prayed, and that is that they would find a way to do the surgery here [in Grand Rapids]. At any rate, I said to John, “Something’s happening, I think I’m going to throw up.” I began to vomit blood each time my heart beat. John held my shoulders as he sat beside me and color drained from my face.
     “Much of the following is from John’s recollection as I lost consciousness before they even put me on the bed…I’ve been told that the surgery began around 9:30 pm and lasted until around 4:30 am. I’ve read the doctor’s report of my surgery, and he says that when I entered the operating room, my pulse was barely there and thready, I had no blood pressure, blood was squirting out my mouth and coming out my rectum, they gave me multiple blood products, as I had bled out! With so little hope I am amazed at the determination of this surgeon and his medical team. I’ve since heard that not one person expected me to recover. Not one. And then, even if I did survive, they wondered if I’d have my mind, due to lack of oxygen during my bleed and before I was intubated. Would my kidneys function? Many questions surrounded my whole recovery as this hospital had never before done this surgery. Not one medical person had ever seen someone survive this rupture.
     “We thank God that we went to the ER when we did. It was a Tuesday late afternoon. All our friends, Facebook friends, and family soon became aware I had been hospitalized. What do Christians do for friends when there is a need? They pray. So by Wednesday night at prayer meetings all over the world people began to pray for my health, even though we had no idea what was wrong and how very seriously my life was endangered. I had one friend tell me via Facebook that she was praying likely at the time of my rupture. She is an hour earlier and had read I was in the hospital on FB. Do I believe in God? You had better believe I do. Does God answer prayer? Yes, He does.
     “One scripture given to me twice while in the hospital was Psalm 118:17-18, ” I shall not die, but I shall live, and recount the deeds of the LORD. The LORD has disciplined me severely, but he has not given me over to death.” This was read to me when Mike and Nona visited. He read the entire Psalm. Then a young man sent this same verse to me via Facebook. It was after I was released and at home that I began to realize the significance of the verse. God help me to be faithful.”
     If you’ve got even more time to hear her story, an 11-minute version from a radio broadcast is here:
Ann Bjorlie at our Kitchen Table

 

 

Please share your thoughts too!

