Leep Art Gallery ala Birthday Club

 

Leep Art Gallery 2“From the Rising of the Sun,” my 400-photo collage project
contemplating the glory of God’s creation, Leep Art Galleryis now on display at Leep Art Gallery until July 1, 2016. sunrise-9-13It wouldn’t exist were it not for God sending the most gorgeous sunrise I’ve ever seen floating above Grand Rapids on the first day of ArtPrize back on 09/18/13.sunrise-reflected-in-lakeThat morning, our lake was awash in color, and I felt like God was pointing out that his handiwork is more glorious than anything I could create or imagine. Birthday Club partyCindi and Susan took me to ArtPrize for my birthday celebration that October, and we mused over what we’d make if we wanted to enter ArtPrize. Leep Art Gallery 5I thought I’d like to make a huge mural of the sunrise over our lake, Mural Pictures 400 copy 2but one thing led to another,
and eventually the project evolved into a 40X80″ collageLeep Art Gallery 7 of “a few of my favorite things,” mostly from around our lake home,
but also from around the world. Leep Art Gallery 1I definitely plan to enter ArtPrize 2016 if I can, but for the next three months, Leep Art Gallery 8the collages will be on display at the Leep Art Gallery in the Postma Center
(at Pine Rest, 300 68th Street SE Grand Rapids, MI 49548). SharonMany thanks to Sharon Rogers, who manages the Postma Center, Putting up collagesMorgan, who hosts and helps with everything, Getting ready to do the heavy lifting!and especially my beloved hubby, who really carried the load—quite literally—
to help me bring the artwork to Leep Art Gallery and get it all set up. Pine Rest Christian Mental Health ServicesWhat a joy it was to bring Cindi and Susan to Pine Rest Leep Art Gallery 2so they could enjoy the collages with me as part of our Birthday Club outing. (The gallery is free and open to the public Monday-Friday, 9:00 am-4:00 pm.)Fire Rock GrillOf course, we had several other items on the agenda as well,Shrimp on Hot Rock at Fire Rock Grilllike lunch at the Fire Rock Grill, where they serve delicious food on “fire rocks,”Buying pastries at Paris Cafe and dessert later at the Paris Cafe, where this Bosnian lady’s husband French pastries makes all their delectable desserts from scratch. Blue Dick in Sierra Nevadas. CAFinally, we ended up at my house for our monthly prayer time. Leep Art GalleryYet another day of sweet fellowship,
“spoiling” the birthday girl and encouraging each other in our walks of faith.

Bird's Eye Gilia. Buttermilk Bend Trail. South Yuba River State Park CA“Let us hold fast the confession of our hope without wavering, for he who promised is faithful. And let us consider how to stir up one another to love and good works, not neglecting to meet together, as is the habit of some, but encouraging one another, and all the more as you see the Day drawing near.”                                                          (Hebrews 10:23-25, ESV)

4 responses to “Leep Art Gallery ala Birthday Club

  1. Charylene Powers

    I’m so thankful that your exhibit will be at the Leep Art Gallery until July 1st. I would like to take Hailey and I know she does not really have a spare moment until her school year is over.

  2. Charylene Powers

    Yes – I would love to have Hailey meet you.

    • Sounds good. I feel like I already know her just from seeing so many pictures and hearing about her and reading her blog!

Please share your thoughts too!

