Coyote Hills Regional Park in Spring: Vibrant with Poppies, Rocks, Planes, and Turkeys

Coyote Hills Regional Park PoppiesIf you’ve ever wondered why the golden poppy is California’s state flower, Golden poppies. Coyote Hills Regional Parktry visiting the Golden State in spring! Coyote Hills Regional Park Amid the poppiesWhile on a tour to see our numerous West Coast rels
(which included the families of 2 sons and 3 siblings), Coyote Hills Regional ParkAaron took us with his crew for a hike near
San Francisco in the East Bay’s Coyote Hills Regional Park, Spring Wildflowers in Coyote Hills Regional Parka vast stretch (978 acres) of marshlands and rolling green hills that are carpeted Poppies in March at Coyote Hills Regional Parkwith flowers—most gloriously poppies—in early spring. Boardwalk through marsh in Coyote Hills Regional ParkIt’s been so rainy this year that part of the boardwalk through the marsh Alemeda Creek Ponding Areawas submerged by overflow from Alameda Creek, Wetlands in Coyote Hills Regional Parkso we had to retrace our steps along the Muskrat Trail. Gorgeous wildflowers in Coyote Hills Regional ParkHowever, the hills were phenomenal! Coyote Hills Regional Park poppies bloomingThe bedrock of Coyote Hills is part of the Franciscan Formation, Greenstone and chert outcroppings at Coyote Hills Regional Parkand half of that is composed of sheared greenstone,
which varies in color from shades of green to even reds and yellows. Franciscan Formation. Coyote Hills Regional ParkWhere the rocks have not been weathered, there are some stunning outcroppings with vibrantly colored veins of recrystalized red and yellow chert (jasper). Wildflowers and vibrant rock formations. Coyote Hills Regional ParkAt the top of one hill, the rocks had some strikingly blue coloring so beautiful Greenstone in Coyote Hills Regional Park that I feared people might think I was just “turning up the color” on my photos! Hiking in Coyote Hills Regional ParkFrom the tops of the Red Hill Trail, you can also catch vistas of San Francisco, Evaporation Ponds in Coyote Hills Regional Parkand the southwestern side of Coyote Hills is bordered by tidal mud flats that have been landscaped to create evaporation ponds for salt water from the Pacific. Radio-operated airplane pilots at Coyote Hills Regional ParkThis area is also popular with radio-controlled airplane operators, Coyote Hills Regional Park Oops. Shouldn't pick the flowers!and on the balmy day of our visit (Oops! It’s pretty, but don’t pick the flowers!), Radio-control airplane operatorone friendly pilot shared some of his expertise and delight in flying with us. Climbing the Trail in Coyote Hills Regional ParkThe only downside of this perfectly good day for UP Testy Tom Turkey in Coyote Hills Regional Parkwas a close encounter with an IFO…an identifiable flying object
which turned out to be a testy tom turkey. 16 Turkeys in our fieldWe have a flock of about 2 dozen turkeys in our Michigan woodsy backyard,
but they shun humans and won’t pose for close up photo ops, Turkeys 2 Coyote Hills Regional Parkso I was delighted that these turkeys seemed more than happy to accommodate… Turkeys by the Red Hill Trail in Coyote Hills Regional Parkuntil I realized the hens were simply feeling secure Tom Turkey at Coyote Hills Regional Park 2because their gorgeous but irascible tom guarded his harem Tom Turkey defending harem in Coyote Hills Regional Parkby  aggressively accosting interlopers, Coyote Hills Regional Park 2including my small partners Poppies in Coyote Hills Regional Parkwho—if a bit taller—were not nearly so wide! Green hills carpeted with wildflowers in Coyote Hills Regional ParkAnd so, I would advise prospective hikers to expect a fabulous day at the park, Testy Tom Turkey in Coyote Hills Regional Parkbut beware the jabberturk, my son! Tired boy after big day of hiking“I will both lay me down in peace, and sleep:
for thou, Lord, only makest me dwell in safety”
(Psalm 4:8).Little Boy Shoes after big day of hiking

 

 

 

10 responses to “Coyote Hills Regional Park in Spring: Vibrant with Poppies, Rocks, Planes, and Turkeys

  1. Beautiful! I have never seen the hills so green and lush! Oh how I hope the abundant rain in northern California makes more of its way to Southern California! Thank you for sharing these beautiful photos! ~Yvonne

    • Hi Yvonne, I agree with you! In all my 40+ years of visiting our siblings in the Bay area, I’ve never seen it so lush and green either. I think it must be the unusually rainy weather. I hope the rain does make its way south to bless you too!!!

      • I lived in Palo Alto while working on my doctorate and the hills were dry and brown. I am so thrilled that there is new life from all the rain! Let it rain! Father, pour your Spirit upon all life!

      • Where did you attend school, and what’s your doctoral degree in? My brother and his family lived in Cupertino for 50 years, although they’ve just retired to a condo in Rosmoor. My brother worked for Lockheed. I’d love to hear what you’re doing now!

      • My daughter did her residency at Stanford in Palo Alto and just left in June after four years! She missed the greening of the Bay area. My son worked for Lockheed right out of college as an aerospace engineer; now he owns his own business in Phoenix! My sister-in-law moved to Campbell when her husband started working for Google so I still visit the peninsula! I do volunteer chaplaincy at UCSD Medical Center and write now that I am retired. I was a nurse for 20 years, had a spiritual awakening (baptism of Holy Spirit and fire) and decided to be a clinical psychologist. But after a year I realized I only wanted to deal with issues from a spiritual level, no longer from the body or mind perspective, so I did an internship with the chaplain at UCSD’s La Jolla campus, and now I write about spirituality from the baptism of Love, Holy Spirit and fire baptism perspective! My husband is a surgeon who sees everything from the physical level and now I see everything from the spiritual level, so together we make the perfect team for those who are hospitalized! 🙂

      • Thank you so much for all this information about your amazing family! Wow! My brother was an aerospace engineer at Lockheed as well. (I used to like to say he was a “rocket scientist.”) My husband is the CMO of a Christian psychiatric hospital here in GR. We went to the bay area to visit our son, who moved there initially working with Face Book (although he now works for Square). I started out toward becoming a clinical psychologist (was accepted to Rosemead), but my husband didn’t want to wait another 5 years for me, so I decided to marry instead. I home schooled our seven children and now that the kids are grown, I write this blog. So, we have a lot of common threads running through our lives! If you ever come to Michigan, please let me know! I’d love to meet you in person, and we’ve got an extra guest bedroom!

      • I have the utmost respect for you for homeschooling your seven children! Wow! Very impressive and wonderful! God bless you!

  2. What a beautiful place!

  3. Charylene Powers

    I love the pictures that show the poppies growing out of the crevices of the rocks. We have talked about sowing seeds of faith (your blog / my wildflower book) and these pictures are a picture of that to me. Little seeds taking root in not great conditions – God sending the rain and the sun and they grow into a beautiful plant. When we sow seeds of faith, the conditions are not always great and we wonder “will this seed ever bare fruit” – it is our job to sow and it is God’s job to produce the fruit. – Thank you for the beautiful post.

Please share your thoughts too!

