Intriguing Doors…Old and New

Door in Mediterranean IslandA couple of days ago I went out for breakfast and to tour the home studio of a new friend who’s a very creative and gifted artist here in southwest Michigan.  If you’ve ever read The Ladies’ #1 Detective Agency, picture Precious, and you might see Carol, or at least that’s who she makes me think of—flamboyant, effervescent, astute, wise…one of those “can do and I’m gonna” sorts of people who’ve been through the wringer and come out the other side with a bright, indomitable spirit. Mediterranean CruiseShe’s also charismatic…the sort of sister in the faith who closes her eyes and sees things…like doors and books…which is what she saw for me.Door for swimming pool In fact, Carol gave me all sorts of advice on names and numbers and some of the “how to’s” of breaking into the market if I’m interested in trying to become more professional with my photography. Doors to outhouse in TunisiaBut, she also asked me a very provocative question, which might have caught me off guard had it not been exactly the same question the guest pastor at our church asked us all last Sunday: “What do you want?” Venice? GraceWe talked a long time, but I want to share just one bit of striking advice: “If the Lord whispers in your heart, ‘Take pictures of doors,’ then do it! Do whatever He tells you. You might not know why now, but someday it will all make sense.” Door. OldActually, I’m intrigued by doors and have indeed been taking pictures of them for a long time! I may not be alone in this fascination, however, because I see doors everywhere—even behind people on Facebook pictures—or else I just notice doors everywhere because they’re fascinating to me.

University of Michigan Law QuadTo me, doors speak of hope and opportunity. They make me curious. Baby DoorThey’re an invitation to adventure.Annecy. France How about you? Can you close your eyes and see doors? Doors. House with manyWhat do they look like? Michigan Law QuadWhat do you want?Door Handle Do you want to choose which door to open,
or would you rather let the Lord choose for you? Eastman Theater DoorsAre you willing to do whatever He whispers in your heart?Door. Very ornate“And I will give her her vineyards from thence, and the valley of Achor for a door of hope: and she shall sing there, as in the days of her youth, and as in the day when she came up out of the land of Egypt” (Hosea 2:15).Beautiful Door“I am the door: by me if any man enter in, he shall be saved, and shall go in and out, and find pasture” (John 10:9).

(Picture of the blue door in Venice taken by my kids, Mike and Grace. Picture of the red door is by Biblegram. The rest are mine from all over the place!)

2 responses to “Intriguing Doors…Old and New

  1. Charylene Powers

    I love to take pictures of people and flowers. Where could that lead?

Please share your thoughts too!

