Rise Up, My Love (164): What’s Your Story?

Jon Brushing TeethSong of Solomon 5:9 “What is thy beloved more than another beloved?” Last week I shared a little bit about my experience with Christ, but today I’d like to ask you to reflect on your story. I’ll never forget the frustration of my son Jonathan had years ago as a teenager. He had such a compulsion to preach but felt like he had “no special message.” We were going down to work at  our local rescue mission, and Jon wanted to be able to share his testimony, but he felt like he didn’t have anything to say. Now, although I never asked my children to ask Christ to save them (because I feared that they would respond just to please me at such tender ages), I did teach them the gospel from infancy, and all of the children—on their own—did want to confess their sins and ask Christ to become their Lord and Savior as preschoolers…most before their third birthday. Jonathan was two and a half when he came tiptoeing down the stairs one night after I’d tucked him into bed, very concerned that he wanted to become a Christian that night!

Now, Jonathan was always an extremely good-natured child, and although he’d once had enough testosterone in his little eighteen-month-old frame to have heaved a footstool across the living room floor (in demonstration of his masculine prowess for his toddler girlfriend), he was generally a bouncy, eager-to-please angel. The only big change I noticed immediately after his conversion was that he’d let me brush his teeth without a tussle. Up until then, he used to clamp his little jaws down on the toothbrush every time I tried to brush his teeth at night. But, the very next night after he had asked Jesus into his heart, he smiled sweetly and let me brush his teeth without fussing.

This, folks, might bring a smile to the faces of the men at the rescue mission, but I’m not sure if hearing that Jesus had enabled Jonathan to kick the toothbrush-biting habit would convince the men that Jesus has enough power to cleanse them from their addictions to heroin and alcoholism, cure their mental illnesses, or restore their broken relationships.

Do you see my point? God’s work in our life is wonderful and miraculous, whether it’s cleaning up our tooth brushing habits or our drinking habits, but it’s still His work, in His way, and in His time, and it’s incidental to what should be the true focus of our testimony. In all things, Christ should be lifted up! Some people tell very sordid stories about themselves; others are afraid to share because they’ve had such an awful past and don’t know what to say. Think of the woman at the well. She didn’t list her sins in gory detail, she simply said, “Come see a man which told me all things that ever I did: is not this the Christ?” (John 4:29). Our testimony could be simply: “Come meet a man who healed me from all things that ever I did: is not this the Christ?“

Never be afraid to speak out about Jesus and all he’s done and can do. It’s not what or how much you did that was wrong, but what he did that was right that’s important. “And I, if I be lifted up from the earth, will draw all men unto me” (John 12:32). Are you happy and satisfied with Christ? Then you’ve got something to share!

6 responses to “Rise Up, My Love (164): What’s Your Story?

  1. Thank you for sharing such a heart-warming story!
    Your Jonathan must be a very special, beautiful human being!

  2. Just what I needed today, Kathi. Thank you. God is GOOD!

  3. Charylene Powers

    I came to faith in August 1973. My life was not going well (I will leave the details for another time) and a friend of mine invited me to a Thursday night service in our small town where we lived. I hesitated to accept her invitation and she said to me “Charylene, it may not help but it surely will not hurt”. I went that night and saw the peace and joy that these faithful had in their lives. I trusted Christ with my life that night and my friend was right; trusting in Christ has made all the difference in the world for my life.

    • Love this! Hadn’t heard this part of your story before. Thank you for taking time to share it, not only with me but with others. I also like your friend’s advice. 🙂

Please share your thoughts too!

