Rise Up, My Love (163): Why I Think Christ is “More”

All Are WelcomeSong of Solomon 5:9 “What is thy beloved more than another beloved, O thou fairest among women? what is thy beloved more than another beloved, that thou dost so charge us?” Does that seem a strange question coming from the daughters of Jerusalem? The bride was looking for the king who reigned over Jerusalem…how could they not understand the significance of his person?

The only explanation can be that they did not know him. They did not recognize his kingship, and they did not know him personally. They had no insight into his greatness, and they had not experienced the beauties of his person.

This is also perfectly true of the King of Kings. As we seek him, we will discover that the world has no idea whom it is we seek! I remember the ecstasy with which I embraced Christ. It was the first time I had ever heard the gospel, and it rang so true in my heart that I practically flew down the aisle when an invitation was given, weeping tears of repentance and joy all at once! I had never in my life heard the wonderful story about Christ and all he’d done for me, but I renounced my sins and claimed him for my Savior on the spot!

I was so thrilled that I began immediately sharing the good news with all my friends at school. Because I had never heard the gospel before, I assumed that most of my friends probably had not either, and that as soon as I told them they would receive the Lord with great joy the way I had. What an amazing shock I had that first day! I discovered a world of people who had heard the message and simply did not believe it, and many others who professed to already know about Christ, but who didn’t want to be “bothered” to become a Christian lest it require a lifestyle change or hamper their “fun.” How could it be??

These are the daughters of Jerusalem…so close, and yet so far! Privileged to live in a land under His blessed rule and yet blind to all He is and does for them. Oh America, America…how often would Jesus have gathered our people under his wings, and we would not!

“What is thy beloved more than another beloved?” What’s so special about Jesus? How is he different from Mohammad or Buddha? Why do you pursue him? What makes him so special, O thou fairest among women?

And here, as believers, I think we often fall into a trap. We are taught that after we’re saved, we are supposed to give our testimony of all that Christ has done for us, and how he has changed us. This, so we are told, is the basis or our credibility and what will draw unbelievers to Christ.

That was what I was taught (over time), and that was what I passed on to my children, but I see today that I have been wrong! We do not have to speak of ourselves at all; we only need to lift up Jesus. He is the only truly pure leader among all the world’s great religious leaders. (If you don’t believe me, study for yourselves.) Christ is the only one who rose from the dead. (None of the others ever even made such a claim.) Christ is the only one who claimed to be One with the Father. He is the only person who died in my (and your) place to pay for our sins so that we can have our sins forgiven. In every other religion, “perfection” (heaven, nirvana, etc.) is obtained by our personal ability to attain a perfect life; it is Christ alone who says, “Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light” (Matthew 11:28-30). No other religion is based on the love of God drawing us to himself, but Christianity is: “And as Moses lifted up the serpent in the wilderness, even so must the Son of man be lifted up: That whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have eternal life. For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life. For God sent not his Son into the world to condemn the world; but that the world through him might be saved” (John 3:14-17).

Today, as the world is reeling in the aftermath of terrorist attacks on Paris, know that martyrdom is the only sure path to an eternal life of bliss according to Islam. But, we don’t have to die for our God, our God has died to obtain eternal life for us, because He loves us. This is how my beloved is more than any other beloved, and this is why I will go to all lengths to be with Him!

 

 

Please share your thoughts too!

