Losing Sight of Water

Autumn Golden Oak leaves copyFor November, the weather has been spectacular lately.
It was 76° and 75° the past two days under an intensely blue sky! Autumn Lake The oaks out our back window shone like burnished brass, and in the golden glow of the late afternoon sun, the lake almost looked like the “deep blue sea”!Rocks and Sand in Tunisia As I stopped to thank God for the beautiful weather, my mind drifted back
to my time in the Saharan Desert of Tunisia last summer. Tunisia Desert Plain Without water, life isn’t possible. Surveying Sahara DesertWithout water, the entire world would soon become like the Sahara Desert. Desert Flowers and Palm Tree. Tunisia Can you imagine what would happen if we lost all our water? Tunisian Spring in Desert 10Rivers and seas would dry up, plant life would die, Names in Rock. Tunisiaand even human life would cease to exist. Southern Tunisia Rocky Desert Earth would become a dead planet, just like all the other the seemingly infinite number of lifeless atronomical bodies that are careening through space. Thick Clouds ABove the Earth Thankfully, God has enrobed  Earth with clouds and filled it with water Tunisian Spring in Desert 2to the tune of about 332,500,000 cubic miles (not much of which is in Tunisia). Oasis in Desert Hopefully, that will keep us hydrated for a good, long time, Tunisian Wilderness but there are few things as unsettling to me as being in a lifeless, barren desert, Tunisian Spring in Desert 8and therefore, there was hardly anything as soothing to me on our trek
as those rare, precious visits to springs of water. Tunisian Spring in Desert 9 But, as I looked back, the shocking thing to me is how petty I am!
I recalled stopping at a glorious spring…and that I lost my sunglasses there! Tunisian Spring in Desert 3 We searched everywhere, but to no avail. Instead of just sitting and soaking in the beauty, I got distracted by a (relatively speaking) very small inconvenience. Tunisian Spring in Desert 6 I don’t want to be a petty person, remembering the inconveniences of life; Tunisian Spring in Desert 4I’d like to become someone who remembers the beauty and goodness of the past, Tunisian Spring in Desert 5 …who’s able to put aside what she’s lost, and rejoice in the Water of Life, which she’s found (because—of course—it’s so often in our losses that we find Christ). Tunisian Spring in Desert “And he said unto me, It is done. I am Alpha and Omega, the beginning and the end. I will give unto him that is athirst of the fountain of the water of life freely” (Revelation 2:6). Tunisian Spring in Desert 7 “And he shewed me a pure river of water of life, clear as crystal, proceeding out of the throne of God and of the Lamb” (Revelation 22:1).

One response to “Losing Sight of Water

  1. Charylene Powers

    Kathi, this is a beautiful post. My favorite thought “I’d like to become someone who remembers the beauty and goodness of the past”.

Please share your thoughts too!

