Tahquamenon’s Amber Falls

Upper Falls Tahquamenon RiverWhile the meaning of the Indian name “Tahquamenon” has long been lost, Lower Tahquamenon Falls 12 the beauty of these rushing waters never disappears. Path Across a Stream This is the remote woodland where Longfellow’s Hiawatha crafted his canoeFishing on Tahquamenon Riverand Ojibway Indians fished.Lower Tahquamenon Falls 11 Today, its pristine heritage has been preserved in Tahquamenon State Park Woods around Upper Falls Tahquamenon River amidst 46,000 acres of murmuring pines and hemlocks. Lower_Falls. DNR Picturejpg* The Tahquamenon River drains a 790-mile watershed, Foamy water at Lower Tahquamenon Falls and the water is full of amber-colored tannic acid
from decaying cedar, spruce, and hemlock swamps.  Lower Tahquamenon Falls 9 As the water churns over the rocks,
the surface becomes as foamy as a root beer float! Lower Tahquamenon Falls 5 There are really a half a dozen falls that cascade down the Tahquamenon River Upper Falls Tahquamenon River 3on its 94-mile meander to Lake Superior’s Whitefish Bay. Upper Falls Tahquamenon River 4 The “Upper Falls” is one of the largest waterfalls east of the Mississippi. Upper Falls Tahquamenon River 2 They are 200 feet wide and drop over 50 feet, roaring under the weight
of as much as 50,000 gallons of water per second in spring. Maple leaves turning at Tahquamenon Falls Four miles downstream Happy comrades! (there’s a rugged, root-filled path you can follow for some spectacular views),  Lower Tahquamenon Falls 2 are the “Lower Falls.” (They can also be reached by a short car ride.) Lower Tahquamenon Falls 3 The Lower Falls are a series of five smaller falls that flow around a tiny island. Lower Tahquamenon Falls You can either take a hike along a lovely boardwalk to view some of the falls, Stephen was also a hero! He rowed us to the island and back! or for a minimal charge you can rent a rowboat from the park concession I think there are literally hundreds of water falls in the U.P. and experience striking views of all five falls Boardwalk at Lower Tahquamenon Falls via a circular boardwalk ’round the island. Tahquamenon Falls in Winter Tahquamenon Falls is beautiful year around
and has been a favorite retreat for Alan and me since we were kids. Tahquamenon Falls in Winter (Fifty years ago you could walk behind the falls, and I was dreadfully disappointed when they no longer allowed this exciting adventure!)Tahquemenon Falls Our oldest, Aaron, scuffed along holding his grandma’s hand when he was learning to walk, and now it’s our turn to pass along the joy. Lower Tahquamenon Falls 6 So, on our “Roots Tour” with Jon and Linda,
we made a stop at Tahquamenon with their two little girls. Lower Tahquamenon Falls 4 Although most of the sights and sounds were  blissfully familiar, Cougar at Tahquamenon Falls I had forgotten just how differently one looks at thingsDanger when there are little ones to protect. Danger Sign at Tahquamenon FallsThis trip, I was glad for the protective barriers, not sorry for the restrictions. PuffballsIt made me remember that God is our Father, and He knows that throughout our lives, we’ll need restrictions to protect us from tantalizing dangers. Joel took good care of me to the bitter (sweet) end!Things have changed a lot in the 200 years since Hiawatha roamed free
(—we used to swim here on hot summer days—),
but I need to learn to appreciate boundaries and borders, not buck them!

“The Lord is the portion of mine inheritance and of my cup: thou maintainest my lot. The lines are fallen unto me in pleasant places; yea, I have a goodly heritage. I will bless the Lord, who hath given me counsel: my reins also instruct me in the night seasons. I have set the Lord always before me: because he is at my right hand, I shall not be moved. Therefore my heart is glad, and my glory rejoiceth: my flesh also shall rest in hope.” (Psalm 16:5-9)

(*The aerial view was taken by the DNR: http://www.michigandnr.com/parksandtrails/Details.aspx?type=SPRK&id=428)

 

3 responses to “Tahquamenon’s Amber Falls

  1. Charylene Powers

    This is a beautiful post – I’m saving it and planning to take a trip to the UP next summer.

    • Sounds great! It is so beautiful up north! On the other hand, I’m dying to see the American lotus swamp you told me about that’s close to GR next summer…

  2. Charylene Powers

    We will surely go to the American lotus – it is really a jaw dropping sight.

Please share your thoughts too!

