ArtPrize and Autumn Mist

Misty morningToday is the first day of autumn: 20 Autumn-Winter Scenes copy Happy autumn to you! End of summer Today is also the first day of ArtPrize. Dew drop Sadly, I was among the 400+ entrants who didn’t find a venue.  😦  Mural Pictures 400 copy  So, unless I can find some venue that would like to display a 33-foot
by 7-foot mural for the next six months (Do you know of any place?), 04 Waterfalls copy

my ArtPrize entry will lay fallow in our basement until next spring, when I have a contract with Leep Art Gallery to display the 20-piece mural as 20 individual collages.16 Exotic Animals copy Being a total novice, and completely naive, I thought all I had to do was produce a work of art and that all applicants would connect with a venue…and then it would just be up to the half a million visitors to decide which artworks were most compelling. Cormorant on our kayak                          Not so! Life is much more complicated than it appears!sanjucc84sangen-docc84-10 It probably didn’t help that I was touring Asia during the artist connection time11181306_740275077128_480536648704360237_n    and working in Africa and Europe with refugess during the venue connection. Cormorant ruffling feathers What I’ve learned is this: Producing and finding a voice are two distinct steps in the process of expressing creativity.Cormorant swimming I could just give up and hang the pictures in my home, but I’m pretty driven to find some way of sharing my joy with those around me. Sun reflectd on lake This morning our Blue Water Writers Group meets at Schulers (want to join?), and one of our exercises is working our way through The Soul Tells a Story: Engaging Creativity with Spirituality in the Writing LifeSun reflected on lake 2 I particularly identified with this paragraph: “…make your creative-spiritual process an offering to the world. In doing this, you assume that what you create can be beneficial to others…Your posture toward the creative work becomes that of service. You open your hands and heart, willing for the work to develop as it needs to for a greater good.” Sunshine on lakefront Amen. I want my photography—and my writing—to be an offering to God first, but then also to people. Mandevillea “Master, which is the great commandment in the law? Jesus said unto him, Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind. This is the first and great commandment. And the second is like unto it, Thou shalt love thy neighbor as thyself. On these two commandments hang all the law and the prophets.” (Matthew 22:36-40) Mandevillea flowers

3 responses to “ArtPrize and Autumn Mist

  1. God bless you Kathi in all your creative doings!

  2. I was looking forward to seeing your entry at Art Prize; I’m confident that the Lord will use your Art Prize project in a powerful way that is not apparent yet. I do want to speak to your blog and creative writing – it has spoken to my heart so many times as I have walked through the deep waters of grief these past nine months. May God continue to Bless your creative ministry.

Please share your thoughts too!

