Back to School

Talking around the fireBy now I think even the latest-to-begin schools are in full swing,
at least in America.  Are you in school this year? Talking with Friends I know many of you are students, but that the majority of those who read this blog are already finished with their formal education and are 20+. Roasting a hotdog on a stick     However, I want to encourage all of us to keep learning…for our entire lives! Campfire My husband, Alan (who’s a physician),
used to say he learned something from every patient he attended.

Fellowship One of my daughter-in-laws has a mother (my age) who just signed up for a class to learn the Norwegian language at her local university in Germany. Can you believe it? She’s one of the oldest students. Fun talking Her eldest son and his family live in Norway, and she wants to be able to communicate better when she visits. That’s really gutsy, I think, but I got so inspired that I signed up for a computer seminar on photography in GR. Chatting with Friends                   This is only a tiny step in the right direction, but at least it’s a start! Potluck Supper What about spiritual growth and learning? Even if you don’t have time for a class, what about a Sunday school class? Last Saturday night, Alan and I attended the kickoff bonfire and potluck fellowship for our Sunday school class. Roasting hotdogs around the fireWe now attend a very large church, and there are about 120 members in our Sunday school class. Our present teacher is doing an outstanding series on the historicity of Jesus, but no matter what the topic, I am constantly inspired and challenged by our teachers, as I am with the ministry of our pastor. Discussion Yesterday his message traced the history of Jericho…from Israel’s first encounter, where Rahab (a “harlot;” a prostitute)—by faith was rescued from the destruction of the city…all the way through the Bible to Luke 19, where Zacchaeus (a “publican;” a tax collector) believed and was rescued by Jesus. It would take an hour to recount the entire message, but in all my years, I’ve never heard such a complete, compelling message on salvation by faith based on insights from studying events that occurred in the city of Jericho. Sunday School Class If you haven’t done so yet, I encourage you at the beginning of this new school  year to join a Sunday school class where you can enjoy fellowship with other believers and grow in your faith. Potluck If you live in GR and don’t have a church home, please consider visiting my church and our Sunday school class!  http://calvarygr.org/ Calvary also has a live stream of their services http://calvarygr.org/sermons-resources/  for those who can’t attend in person.

Grandpa and baby But, whoever you are and wherever in the world you live, Friends I hope you reach out and find fellowship. Lots of good drinks!May we all continue to grow—body, soul, and spirit—throughout our lives!

“But what think ye? A certain man had two sons; and he came to the first, and said, Son, go work to day in my vineyard. He answered and said, I will not: but afterward he repented, and went. And he came to the second, and said likewise. And he answered and said, I go, sir: and went not. Whether of them twain did the will of his father? They say unto him, The first. Jesus saith unto them, Verily I say unto you, That the publicans and the harlots go into the kingdom of God before you. For John came unto you in the way of righteousness, and ye believed him not: but the publicans and the harlots believed him: and ye, when ye had seen it, repented not afterward, that ye might believe him. (Matthew 21: 28-32)

Please share your thoughts too!

