It’s 9/11 Again…Did You Remember?

Pray for PeaceAs our country stumbles further into darkness, I believe that every day is a day to cry out to God in confession, repentance, and for mercy, not only for ourselves and our nation, but for the entire world. However, there is a national push for everyone who believes to stop at noon (your time, whatever that is) today and pray for restoration, healing, and peace for our world. I am for it; I’m going to be doing it, and I hope you will join in. 9-11 We RememberHowever, yesterday I had not thought about the fact that 9-11 was coming up. It wasn’t until I got up this morning and noticed the world abuzz with reminders that I realized what day it is. How easily I forget past terrors when they didn’t personally effect me. I have a brother who lives in Manhattan and works at the V.A. hospital there. No one in his family was injured, although he was personally very impacted by the results of the disaster. I’m sure he doesn’t forget. On this site nothing happenedWhile ambling through England’s Elysian Cotswolds, I came upon this plaque in the picturesque village where we stopped for lunch. It makes you smile, doesn’t it? I could hang that plaque outside my door, and for most of the time, it would be largely true. I have a dear friend who was a missionary working at a hospital in Monrovia, Liberia for many years. One Christmas she wrote that “nothing ever seems to happen, as usual.” However, within weeks of that letter (written on the eve of 1988), a civil war broke out that lasted almost a decade and ended in the death of over 200,000 people…her husband nearly being one of them, had he not escaped through the jungle and eventually been rescued. Deer on road 9.11.15 For most of us, having “nothing” of great consequence happen is a good thing, although it is often through great chaos that great change occurs…for better or worse. For all the good days when “nothing” much happens, let’s be grateful! For those terrible days when something so devastating happens that we can never forget…may we learn what we can, embrace the mystery of what we cannot understand, and move forward—living each day by faith…praying, hoping, and working toward a better life for ourselves and our world.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!Dream! copyThe secret things belong unto the Lord our God:
but those things which are revealed belong unto us and to our children for ever, that we may do all the words of this law” (Deuteronomy 29:29).

Please share your thoughts too!

