The Ins and Outs of Jams: Redeeming Each Day

Wild Thimbleberry JamLast Friday I mentioned that wild Thimbleberry jam is very pricey, and part of this is doubtless because thimbleberries are hand-picked and hard to come by. Green thimbleberriesMany of you may not be familiar with thimbleberries, or perhaps you know them by one of their other names, such as salmon berries or snow brambles. Thimbleberry flowers They are native to North America and abundant in Michigan’s upper peninsula, but I don’t think they’re much different from raspberries. In fact, I personally think they tend to be mushier and have a less distinctive flavor than raspberries, so unless you have an unavertable penchant for thimbleberries, I’d like to offer an invertible counterpoint:
Make your own jam at home for a fraction of the cost using raspberries! Crab Cakes BenedictDo you ever make your own jams? Wherever we go, my kids tease me because I say, “We could do that!” when we’re served some lovely new dish, like the crab cakes Benedict I had the other day. Truly, if we can figure out the flavors and are willing to do a little experimenting (and/or searching online), most of us could make a lot of delectable dishes at home. Ripened thimbleberry For instance, most berries can be turned into jams by simply adding equal parts of fruit and sugar, and boiling the mixture down until it’s thick enough to please the palate. I consider this the perfect way to preserve the remains of my carefully picked seasonal fruits, particularly if I’ve already frozen enough fresh and fear the last of my labors may be lost. Jams at home As I was pouring out a pint of raspberry jam the other day, it occurred to me that there are probably many similar situations in my spiritual life…ways of preserving the last bits of life’s experiences (even ones that seem to be turning bad) so that even the remains of the day will be redeemed. Of course, it will take thought, the willingness to experiment, research and practice…a little sweetener, a little heat, and a little time…but that’s okay, isn’t it?

Poorrock Abbey Jam“See then that ye walk circumspectly, not as fools, but as wise, redeeming the time, because the days are evil” (Ephesians 5:15-16).

Please share your thoughts too!

