Rise Up, My Love (149): Becoming Diamonds

Diamonds are ForeverSong of Solomon 5:2 “Open to me, my sister, my love, my dove, my undefiled.” This verse demonstrates that a mature marriage is a many faceted relationship, just like a well-cut diamond. Marriage provides the protective freedom to develop almost the entire gamut of relationship possibilities. Close up of Diamond Ring For example, two people may start out as friends (or in a few cases I’ve known…enemies!), and if they’ve known each other from childhood, they may be almost like siblings. If they meet as young adults, they may begin as classmates or coworkers. However their relationship begins, if it progresses into a lasting love and they eventually marry, the two become not only friends but also husband and wife. Colors in a diamond ring Over the next few years, they establish strong ties as partners, teammates, and often parents. As the relationship deepens into a tested trust, the couple will also take on alternating roles for each other as teacher/learner, parent/child, nurse/patient, shepherd/sheep, etc. Diamond Ring Eventually, if they allow the blows of the hammer in God’s hand to cut and polish their relationship (instead of giving up in despair because the process is so long and painful)… as the two work, play, and learn to negotiate all the struggles and triumphs of life together, they continue to develop more varied and deeper relationships. Diamonds are Forever! Finally, their marriage begins to sparkle with the richness and depth of a many-faceted diamond that has been well cut and carefully polished. It is at this stage of marriage that the couple is able to truly appreciate the value of what God has done in them. Perhaps that’s why the seventy-fifth anniversary is called the “diamond” anniversary…because so few of us get there! Old Diamond Ring Sadly, fewer and fewer marriages are enduring long enough under the pressure and heat necessary to create such beautiful relationships, but this is God’s plan and potential for each marriage if the couple will only faithfully continue their pilgrimage together and trust God’s mercy to lead them. Will you? Diamond Wedding Band Dear Father, please strengthen us with your grace so that we may endure to the end as polished jewels, radiating your love to our mates and to the world around us. May it be said of us, “And they shall be mine, saith the Lord of hosts, in that day when I make up my jewels” (Malachi 3:17). Diamond Wedding Ring

 

 

8 responses to “Rise Up, My Love (149): Becoming Diamonds

    • Thank you! I hope others notice your blog too. There are lots of good thoughts in Underground Energy!

      • Thank you, Kathi. I wish more people would come to the original blog. I want to share the words so badly, but they don’t come to the original when I reblog. I’ve questioned if I should or not. I guess the people who want to read the words will. You have been such an encouragement to me. I’m so glad I found you.

      • If they read the ideas and are encouraged by them, that’s all that matters! I’m so glad we found each other!

  1. Charylene Powers

    This is a beautiful message for all of us – no matter what anniversary we are celebrating – it would also be a wonderful wedding gift to a couple starting out for them to read every anniversary – just a thought.

    • Lovely thought. I remember struggling so much with “appropriate roles” in marriage, and I see my own kids negotiating all the possibilities and needs versus social expectations. If we live long enough, all the externals are pretty much burned off (or melt away) and we find the freedom to just love each other however that looks and whatever that means, as I know you’ve also learned.

  2. Kathy, I love the connection to the jewel verse. I don’t know anyone who still sings one of my favorite songs from my childhood, but some must – at least Alison does! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UmSbC17u4-s

    There must be some who read this blog who are mired in guilt from the absolute failure of their marriage. They need to hear over and over about the God of second – and third – and on to seventy times seven chances

    Ted

    • Thank you, Ted, for reminding us of our God, whose love never fails and whose arm is outstretched still in love to forgive us and give us another chance…every day of our lives!! Where would any of us be without the precious gift of forgiveness, from our Father God, and from our fellow men? Love this rendition of Jewels…so sweet!

Please share your thoughts too!

