Among the Lilies: Brianna’s Baby

Dan and BriannaYesterday I mentioned that Brianna (and my son, Daniel) served as photographers for a wedding last weekend, but today I want to share a precious story that Brianna wrote last week. Mother with Baby at Meijer Garden Those of you who know our family well have heard many stories about Samuel, their little miracle baby who was born at 27.5 weeks and had a huge struggle for survival. Dan and Brianna with Baby Sam He is now so round and sturdy that he reminds me of a little Winston Churchill (only immeasurably sweeter in disposition). But, without further ado, I’ll share what she wrote: Brianna with their Baby “364 days ago, I was eagerly anticipating/anxiously awaiting my first ‘normal’ pregnancy appointment ever… hoping to hear our baby’s heartbeat at the 10 week check-up, but scared that there wouldn’t be one. That same week, I watched the lilies fade in my backyard and wondered what would happen to the lone one that lay fallen over on the ground, unopened. The morning of my appointment, it blossomed in the dirt. My very favorite flower in the whole world- a stargazer. Daniel and I were delighted.  Baby with Star-gazer lilyI sometimes struggle with trusting that the Lord’s plan is good, even when it’s hard. What a sweet reminder from our Creator.  This morning the stargazer gave us this year’s bloom.

Baby and star-gazer lily “‘And which of you by being anxious can add a single hour to his span of life?…’
‘Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin, yet I tell you, even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these. But if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is alive and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith?’
                                                        – Matthew 6:27-30″

One response to “Among the Lilies: Brianna’s Baby

  1. So sweet! Papa-God is always and faithfully here!

    On Wed, Jul 29, 2015 at 12:09 PM, Summer Setting wrote:

    > Kathi posted: “Yesterday I mentioned that Brianna (and my son, Daniel) > served as photographers for a wedding last weekend, but today I want to > share a precious story that Brianna wrote last week. Those of you who know > our family well have heard many stories about Samue” Respond to this post > by replying above this line > New post on *Summer Setting* > Among > the Lilies: Brianna’s Baby > by > Kathi > > [image: Dan and Brianna] > Yesterday > I mentioned that Brianna (and my son, Daniel) served as photographers for a > wedding last weekend, but today I want to share a precious story that > Brianna wrote last week. [image: Mother with Baby at Meijer Garden] > > Those of you who know our family well have heard many stories about Samuel, > their little miracle baby who was born at 27.5 weeks and had a huge > struggle for survival. [image: Dan and Brianna with Baby Sam] > > He is now so round and sturdy that he reminds me of a little Winston > Churchill (only immeasurably sweeter in disposition). But, without further > ado, I’ll share wh

Please share your thoughts too!

