Mothers Day Joys and Woes

Dutch children kissingDid you have a Happy Mother’s Day? I had a really wonderful weekend. Aaron and Alan Aaron (our oldest) flew in Friday so Alan, Aaron, and I had an entire day to be together…something that hasn’t happened in 36 years (since #2 son was born). Holland with Aaron That was unique and super special. Saturday we went to the tulip festival D&B+Baby makes 3! and then spent the rest of the afternoon at Dan and Brianna’s home, Aaron with Baby Sam where Aaron got to hold his newest nephew, Samuel, for the first time. Mother's Day Daniel and Brianna gave me some gifts, including a pair of beautiful jasper earrings that Daniel picked out himself and a pot of marigolds, which is a tradition on Brianna’s side since she was little and made me feel very loved! Carleen with GilesSaturday night Carleen (Aaron’s wife) arrived with their four boys, A+Me with A+C's Kids and we had a very joyous reunion before they headed north to spoil Carlie’s mom for Mother’s Day. Visiting Dan and Brianna Sunday morning after church, I was greeted with a beautiful bouquet from a florist, compliments of my youngest, who’d been in Stratford with his best friend taking in some Shakespearean plays, although Joel did make it home in time to spoil me later in the day. Jon and Girls Jonathan’s family called, Mike's Family and I got sweet notes from Mike’s family and Stephen (who’s visiting with them). Joel and Alan at DinnerAlan took Joel and me out for dinner at one of my favorite restaurants, and in all, it was an almost perfect day. Almost. There was also a deep ache in my heart, though, because right now there’s a rift in my relationship with my only daughter, which is very sad to me.

I’ve also been praying for a dear friend who’s son committed suicide a few months ago…and for a friend whose beautiful daughter was killed in a car accident…and for a cousin whose daughter died suddenly of pneumonia…and for a beloved friend who never had children, and for friends who’ve lost their precious wife and/or mom this past year, and for friends whose mom is dying of brain cancer right now… Omish Folks at Windmill IslandLife in this world is never static, nor does it ever seem devoid of sorrows. Yesterday our pastor preached on going “outside the camp” to be with Christ, who went outside the camp to die in our place so that we can be reconciled to God and have fellowship with the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit. In our walk of faith, God calls us to follow him “outside the camp,” even it that means separation from our loved ones at times on this earth. Are you separated from someone you love so much that it made your heart ache this Mothers Day? Be of good cheer; we’re on a journey, and we’re not really home yet. But, someday we will be home, and then everything will be made right!Kathi holding grandbaby“For here have we no continuing city, but we seek one to come” (Hebrews 13:14).

7 responses to “Mothers Day Joys and Woes

  1. Praying for you today. The woe with your daughter breaks my heart. I’m so sorry.

    I marvel, once again – how much you look like my friend Pam. I wish you could meet… you look like sisters and she is a sister in the Lord that I think you would be blessed to know.

    May the Holy Spirit be at work to restore the breach in your family. Pray for you often. Susan

    • Thank you, Susan! It’s sort of all related. I’d love to meet Pam. Sounds like some day I will. 🙂 Does she live in Maine? Bless you. I pray for you too!

  2. Glad you had such a lovely day. and thinking of you and Kathy.

  3. So sorry your daughter is being difficult. How often our children forget their place and all we’ve done for them! I will pray for her! Love the blog!

    • I’m sure my daughter would say I lack compassion and have failed her. She’s a wonderful young woman in many ways, and I love her dearly! Thank you for your empathy and prayers!

  4. Charylene Powers

    My favorite line – “Be of good cheer; we’re on a journey, and we’re not really home yet. But someday we will be home and then everything will be made right.” Thank you for your thoughtful post.

Please share your thoughts too!

