Rise Up, My Love (135): To Love and Be Loved

Jesus holds usSong of Solomon 5:1 “I am come into my garden, my sister, my spouse:” What a tender response to His bride’s request! How often we have trouble ascending to our Lord; and yet, he has no trouble condescending to us! No sooner does she invite Him to enjoy her than he responds: “I am enjoying you!” It brings to mind Isaiah 65:24, “And it shall come to pass, that before they call, I will answer; and while they are yet speaking, I will hear.”

One of the most striking beauties of this verse is the sovereign possessiveness of the husband. Solomon uses the possessive pronoun “my” nine times! Is there any other verse in the whole of Scripture that speaks of such undisputed ownership? Lucifer and Nebuchadnezzar may vie for how many I’s they can cram into their monologues, but no one claims possession of his loved one any more ardently than our heavenly lover! He says “my” garden, “my” sister, “my” spouse…and goes on to speak of all that he enjoys therein as his.

Have you ever longed to possess and be possessed? To love and be loved? To own and be owned? Have you ever longed for someone to claim you as their own? Our Lord makes us into a beautiful garden and then responds to our call of love: “Come claim me! Come enjoy me.” He answers, “I am, and I have! You are my nearest and dearest…my next and best of kin…my sister and my spouse.”Jesus Knocking at our heart's doorHe takes all that is his…but only what is his. He never takes by force; he never plunders at will. He ever waits patiently for an invitation…even to enjoy that which is rightfully his! Revelation 3:20 explains: “Behold, I stand at the door, and knock: if any man hear my voice, and open the door, I will come in to him, and will sup with him, and he with me.” For those who open the door, Christ stands ready to enter and share a love feast! “Eat, O friends; drink, yea, drink abundantly, O beloved.”

 

Please share your thoughts too!

