Spring Training

Is this your idea of spring training?   It’s going to be spring this coming weekend! Are you ready for spring training? Working Out?…Or, is this more typical of the way it’s been going for you?

These cartoons are a more accurate reflection of my winter than I’d like to admit! For the first quarter, focusing on eating a very low-sugar, low-carb diet has paid off, because I’ve lost 9 pounds. BUT, between the extremely cold weather and high life pressures, proper habits of exercise have almost gone by the wayside. 😦caloriecounterBy googling I found many charts that give approximations for how many calories our bodies will burn doing various activities. This is just one example that I liked, because it includes most of the usual ways I exercise and gives values for various weights, but if you’re interested, I’m sure a chart that includes your particular weight and activities is out there.

So, for this second quarter, which is spring, I’m going to try to add a second dimension to my “weight-loss journey,” which is spring training, to remind myself that fitness isn’t just being the proper weight, it’s also being physically fit!

For physical training is of some value, but godliness has value for all things, holding promise for both the present life and the life to come.”
(1 Timothy 4:8, NIV)

 

5 responses to “Spring Training

  1. 23/-1.4/14 I’m finally starting to lose consistently, but I suppose it won’t last. Seems like all of life is like the weather…up and down! However, I’m delighted to be down 9 pounds over the past 11 weeks. Now, if I can just keep it up for another 41 weeks. 🙂 How are you doing?

  2. Down 2 pounds this week – have also been feeling the “couch potato” syndrome snd am longing for warmer temps and clear roads/walking paths.

  3. Having trouble logging in.

    Hi Kathi, thanks again…as you know from my emails, life is a little crazy here, but I’m eating very well, but still can’t trust my scales, unless I’m truly 4.5 pounds heavier this morning than yesterday morning! I figure if I feed my body exceptionally healthy food the pounds will eventually come off as eating this way gives a little room for my favorite foods in small amounts, and my appetite is appeased!

    • Sounds good. I feel like my weight has just been dropping off at a good rate for the past 2 weeks…but it’s also been 2 weeks since we’ve been anywhere. Keep at it, girl. If we eat right, we should lose!

Please share your thoughts too!

