Losing Weight (6): Oh, No! Equal Weights and Measures?

Scales for measuring WeightWell, I’ve turned in my old faithful scales of the past 30+ years. See the little “JUST RIGHT” sign at the top? My dear husband taped that up for me some years ago, not because my weight has been anywhere close to just right, but because he wanted me to know that he will love me no matter how much I weigh. Now, that’s absolutely great for a husband, but as a wife, I wanted to do better than presume on his kindness for the rest of my life, and I actually want to become “just right.” My sister has a scale that measures in tenths of a pound, and so I decided to buy one of those with the thought that I might be encouraged by finding that I’d lost even a tenth of a pound now and then throughout the week. However, what really happened is that I discovered I’ve actually been weighing 2 pounds more than I thought all these years. Yikes!

To make matters worse, my trip to Maui proved incompatible with losing weight, despite trading french fries for extra veggies and averting my eyes while Alan ate See’s chocolates, Hagen Daz ice cream, potato chips, and other such delicacies. (Which, by the way, is just fine for him, because he’s not the least bit overweight!) Of course, I did try some of Aunt Julia’s famed “best banana bread on the planet,” coconut candy from the Hana market (coconut dipped in cane sugar juice and slow-roasted in the oven for 2 days), some of Glen’s “amazing coconut macadamia nut lilikoi ice cream” and lilikoi butter…things I’d figured would be now or never treats. We swam and hiked pretty much every day, but apparently that didn’t quite compensate for my routine workouts. Hmmm. This trip has really increased my empathy for Bonnie and Ruth, our two gals who travel a lot for work! No wonder they struggle. Home sweet home is hard enough, but eating out really, really multiplies the challenges. The Original Hula Pie The absolute bottom came in the form of splitting a piece of pie with Alan…a pie so famous that it rates its own special serving utensil engraved with its name! My sister wants to know what’s in “The Original Hula Pie,” and this is how the waitress described it: “It’s got a crushed chocolate sandwich cookie crust that’s filled with macadamia coconut ice cream and then topped with cold chocolate, hot fudge, whipping cream, and crushed macadamia nuts. It’s not quite as big as the guy behind us, but pretty close. I’m also pretty sure that next year when I’ve lost my 23 pounds I’m going to make one for a high tea!

Well, enough excuses and complaining. The fact is, “pretty good” at eating right isn’t good enough if I am really serious about losing weight, and using scales that are correct—as surprising and disappointing as it is at first—is the only right way to go. Next week, I hope to have a better report, but for today, maybe you can encourage me with your progress! Any good news?

A false balance is abomination to the Lord: but a just weight is his delight.” Proverbs 11:1

10 responses to “Losing Weight (6): Oh, No! Equal Weights and Measures?

  1. 23/+0.5/19.5 Three and a half pounds for the month maybe isn’t too bad, but it means I have a LONG way to go before I can eat much of the yummy stuff that’s not very nutritive! How are the rest of you doing?

  2. Well, my scale showed a gain of 2.4 pounds (how? why?) do I’m off to donate a kidney, get a haircut, and take the underwire out of my bra! 😜 Ok, seriously, I’m sure it’s just a water thing or something because I’ve been trying, but even if it isn’t im not terrorized by the # as I would have been in the past. I’ll just keep on keeping on.

    • Bless you, Ruth! After my trip, I’ve got extra empathy and incentive to pray for you. You have a great sense of humor, BTW! I am sure that salt really messes with my numbers. Glad you’re eating well and will just keep on keepin’ on!

  3. 75/1.5/71 Down 1.5! And feels great! Eating most of my heavy meals in the morning, moderate midday, and light in the evening. Lifestyle eating, no counting anything, holding back in the afternoon, and fresh fruits and veggies.
    I pray for the others, and sure need their prayers, too!

    • Fabulous! You win the prize this week for all of us. We can all take joy in your success. Thank you for praying for us. I do pray for you too, every day!

  4. ……eating out is a problem, mostly, I think, because of the chemicals, poor quality restaurant oils, and HFCS that make those tastes so addictive, increase our appetites, and mess with our chemistry to hold on to those substances as fat. Ugh!

  5. I completely and utterly fell off the wagon this past Monday. I got through the Super Bowl without snacking, but I stayed up late to finish the game, and Monday I was really tired. When I get extra tired, then my willpower seems to evaporate. I ate chocolate, crackers, and chips and completely ruined my progress. Sigh. OK, well, I’m back on the wagon again. It’s the first time I’ve been “bad” since I started my diet Jan 1. I think I was also feeling tired of being deprived, tired of cottage cheese and carrot sticks, etc.

    • I think all the things you mentioned about being tired of feeling deprived had something to do with my indulgence this past week too. I bought yogurt for breakfast (which I ate faithfully) and cottage cheese for lunch (which I only ate once, when Alan and I went on a picnic), and ya…I bought 2 pounds of carrots but couldn’t quite finish them!! Welcome back on the wagon. Me too!

  6. 26/1.8/21.2 I struggle getting a pair of scales that are consistent. I have two scales and compare them and average it between them. It sounds obsessive and probably is. I believe that I’m eating less and this may help as well.

Please share your thoughts too!

