Losing Weight (5): Are you Losing Weight, or Losing Out?

LWI love to organize. Do you? Have you noticed that it’s much more fun to develop a plan than it is to carry it out? There’s something creative and energizing about dreaming up what you want to do, but the day-to-day grind of working out all the details and actually finishing some project isn’t nearly so captivating. I am sure one reason I enjoy blogging is that writing discreet essays on various subjects is much easier than planning and completing an entire book.

The same is true of working on weight loss. Planning a diet that might work is the fun part. Actually dieting is never fun, or easy, and it’s always tempting to just give up and go back to the age-old strategies of trying to “eat less and enjoy it more” or simply “watching what we eat” (which—if you’re like me—never works for long enough). At Calvary, our pastor is teaching on the book of Hebrews, and I was very inspired by his thoughts on Hebrews 10:32-36, where he discussed strategies for how to get past the hard times on our spiritual journeys when we feel like we just can’t (or don’t want to) keep going. I’ve extrapolated some from his thoughts, but let me share a few ideas. When you’re weary and want to quit~

*Look Back: “Call to remembrance the former days…” (Hebrews 10:32). Remember what it was like before you resolved to change. What was it like? Why did you decide to change? I recall that I’ve been overweight for more than 10 years, and that it’s not only negatively affected my energy level but also the way I feel about myself.

*Look Up: “Remember the former things of old: for I am God, and there is none else; I am God, and there is none like me” (Isaiah 46:9) God has always been, He has always loved us, and He always desires our best. If we’re convinced that losing weight is a good thing and God’s will for us, then “this is the confidence that we have in him, that if we ask any thing according to his will, he hears us: and if we know that he hears us, whatsoever we ask, we know that we have the petitions that we desired of him” (1 John 5:15). Ask, believe, and just keep asking for grace to follow through until we finish the job and reach our goal!!

*Look ahead: “Cast not away therefore your confidence, which has great recompense of reward” (Hebrews 10:35). What do you hope for as a result of losing weight? Increased vitality and health? A more attractive appearance? A coupon from your husband good for a trip around the world for two? (Well, we can always wish, can’t we? Although—I have to admit—my husband has offered no prize. Losing weight really needs to be about doing what’s right, honoring God, and providing for our own well-being, not simply pleasing others, although being a healthy weight will certainly be more pleasing to others.)

As the president of my Alma Mater used to say, “Let’s just keep on keepin’ on!”

“For you have need of patience, that, after you have done the will of God, you might receive the promise” (Hebrews 10:36).

 

 

 

9 responses to “Losing Weight (5): Are you Losing Weight, or Losing Out?

  1. True confessions. I don’t know how much I weigh right now, but I will record it if I can find a scales somewhere. (Not at home at the minute.) I have had several failures this week, the worst of which was sharing a piece of hula pie with Alan, although I also had a slice of banana bread last night. Otherwise, I’ve been pretty good “considering”…

  2. 05/.03/3.5 Well, I had 6 potato chips this week, which are NOT on my list of food I can eat. The small victory is, at least I didn’t eat a whole bowl full. I don’t know how a person can be expected not to have something as special as a piece of hula pie when she may not get another chance in many months. I hope it was delicious. What was in it? Do I dare know? I’m making slow progress losing weight, but at least this week, I lost a bit. That beats gaining.

    • Excellent! I took a picture of the Hula pie, so I’ll show you next week and tell you what was in it, but maybe I shouldn’t!

  3. 75/1/72.5 I lost that half pound gained, and lost another half pound! My life is anything but stable so I don’t ‘diet’, instead, I look for ways to put healthy eating into my life that works with all our ups and downs of day to day uncertainties. I try to eat mostly from the ‘superfood’ list; that means fresh fruits and veggies with the deepest color, mostly lean meats, and nuts and seeds. Also, I give room for slipping here and there, knowing I can go right back on without emotional regrets. Sometimes I slip badly and gain some back, but the downward trend is what I’m after, keeping healthy eating as the main target, and weight loss as the second priority.
    Thank you, Kathi, this group you have started is very helpful as I don’t feel like I’m entirely on my own, I’m with friends who understand! I’m grateful!

    • Congratulations on losing a pound! I think you have a great strategy. I’m also trying to eat out of the healthy food groups without taking time to count calories or anguish too much (although this week I’ve made some conscious choices to try new things that aren’t on my “good” list). Thanks for the good advice not to get too bent out of shape when I don’t stick 100% to the healthiest foods. Weight Watchers also provides a little room for special treats now and then. So glad you’re appreciating our support group…it’s definitely helping me too!

  4. My weight is down today, despite my failure not to eat chocolate!

    • Good for you! I failed this week on the no chocolate too but am also trying hard…left half my burger bun and NO french fries, etc….and only a little chocolate (on my hula pie). This is tough, but I keep dreaming of looking more like I did when I was younger…we’ll probably never REALLY look the same, but less is better, right?!

  5. 26/1/22 I am hoping to lose weight much quicker but 1 lb a week has been my progress. I did look back at my records and since September 2013 I have lost 9 lbs. which really encouraged me. So I’ll keep trying.

    • Wow, 9 pounds is really impressive. I’d gained several since 2013, and I’m just getting back to that level. BTW, my dream is to lose 1 pound a week, so I think what you’re doing is wonderful. We could weigh what we did back in high school by Christmas if this keeps up!!

Please share your thoughts too!

