Two Are Better Than One

Liz and ChuckOver the Christmas holidays, “Uncle Chuck” and “Aunt Lizzie” visited. Liz has been the little sister I always wanted…but had to wait 16 years to meet, because she’s not actually my biological sister; she’s my spiritual sister and the youngest daughter of “Mommu,” who mothered and mentored me pretty much forever.  Liz and KathiLizzie didn’t find her true love until almost 40, so we shared many years and  tears whilst waiting for Prince Charming (and he is) to find her. However, in the intervening years since, Liz has doubtless listened patiently to more of my sob stories than I have hers, so ours is a very mutual and deep friendship of “calling one another on to love and good works.” IMG_3426The other day I had a favored candle that was burning very low even though there was a bit of fragrant wax left in the bottom of the jar. I thought of  Isaiah 42:3, “A bruised reed He will not break, and smoking flax He will not quench.” Lighting a candleNot long after, I noticed that it had completely died out, but I wondered if a long match burning next to the wicks might liquify enough wax so that it could burn until the candle was entirely vaporized.IMG_3386With a little patience, I was able to get one of the wicks to light, and eventually, IMG_3394          both of the match sticks were burning brightly like wooden wicks! IMG_3399It was a bit of a short-lived glory though, because soon one of the wicks expired and refused resuscitation. Still, I thought the jar was so pretty that it would make a good vase, and so I hoped the other matchstick would continue to burn.Candle burning low However, something happened that I didn’t expect: The burning match stick was somehow able to rekindle the original stub of a wick, and for awhile they both burned brightly together, filling the room with sweet perfume. IMG_3424Friends are the same. As we allow the Lord to light us (which might feel like getting burned at times), we can absorb the oil of grace that not only allows us to burn brightly but can warm and revive the flagging spirits of those nearest and dearest to us, so that we can continue our spiritual journey together. IMG_3401“Two are better than one, because they have a good reward for their labor. For if they fall, one will lift up his companion” (Ecclesiastes 4:9-10 NKJV).

2 responses to “Two Are Better Than One

  1. So, Kathi, are you the gal on the right in the second picture?

    I LOVE all your beautiful photos.

Please share your thoughts too!

