New Year’s Resolution: Anybody Want to Lose Weight with Me?

Did you know they say the average American gains 5 pounds over the holidays? I was right on track with that estimate until I turned the corner on the morning of Christmas Eve. Anybody want to join me in a super-simple, free, no measure,  low-carb/low-sugar diet this year? I test-drove this easy plan for the past week and found that it worked for me. I lost a tad and never felt hungry. Interested?

Want to know what would be considered a “healthy normal” weight for you?  The easiest chart I found for estimating healthy weight is from Rush University Medical Center, and I’ve included the link and their chart below, just in case you’re wondering. I was happily relieved to find that they are very generous in their parameters, but even so, I’m still overweight! 😦

Here’s my proposal. Anybody who wants to join me in an on-line weight loss encouragement program can check in here each week on Wednesday. We don’t have to say how much we weigh, we can just say how much we want to lose, how much we’ve lost that week, and how much we’ve lost since we began…and that doesn’t have to mean we’re promising to lose all we need to lose. It’s just our personal goal for this year. I would like to lose 23 pounds, and so I’m committing to keeping my diet plan for an entire year (until next Christmas Eve) or until that goal is reached, although I’d really like to weigh even less and may keep going for the entire year unless I ever have the happy problem of being too thin (which wouldn’t probably happen in 100 years unless I become ill). So, when I check in next week, it might look like: 23/.05/22.5…that’s if I lose 1/2 a pound a week, which I’m hoping to do.

Want to join? I’ll try to write some encouraging tip or recipe each week, but I’m also hoping that anybody who joins, knows (or learns) something helpful, and has the time might add info for the rest of us. Just your “23/.05/22.5” or whatever each week is fine, but if you find a great recipe, want to discuss a problem, solution, or strategy, or whatever, any comment would be helpful for the rest of us, and we can encourage each other as we go.

What do you think? It’s simple: We can have all the fruits, veggies, dairy (minus ice cream) and protein sources we want, but we just give up sweets and starchy foods. You might want to tailor your plan to suit who you are, and over time, I suspect we might need to become a bit harder on ourselves to lose the last few pounds. For example, I imagine that the day may come when I have to make a conscious effort to reduce portion size, although this past week I lost fine without even worrying about it. Also, I’m not saying “NO sugar,” because I’m allowing myself honey for coffee or tea, and I’m not saying “NO starch,” because if I’m somewhere and they serve me a pasta dish with meat as the main entreé, I don’t want to be without food or make my hostess uncomfortable. Also, you may only want to commit to a trial of 1-2-3 weeks or months before saying you’ll commit to working at it until you reach whatever weight goal you set for yourself.

But I, for one, am tired of being overweight, and so I’m asking the Lord to help me do what I know is good for me: be disciplined in my eating so that I fall within the range of “healthy normal.” What do you think?

“Call to Me, and I will answer you, and show you great and mighty things, which you do not know” (Jeremiah 33:3).

 

https://www.rush.edu/health-wellness/quick-guides/what-is-a-healthy-weight

 

Height Weight
Normal Overweight Obese
4′ 10″ 91 to 115 lbs. 119 to 138 lbs. 143 to 186 lbs.
4′ 11″ 94 to 119 lbs. 124 to 143 lbs. 148 to 193 lbs.
5′ 97 to 123 lbs. 128 to 148 lbs. 153 to 199 lbs.
5′ 1″ 100 to 127 lbs. 132 to 153 lbs. 158 to 206 lbs.
5′ 2″ 104 to 131 lbs. 136 to 158 lbs. 164 to 213 lbs.
5′ 3″ 107 to 135 lbs. 141 to 163 lbs. 169 to 220 lbs.
5′ 4″ 110 to 140 lbs. 145 to 169 lbs. 174 to 227 lbs.
5′ 5″ 114 to 144 lbs. 150 to 174 lbs. 180 to 234 lbs.
5′ 6″ 118 to 148 lbs. 155 to 179 lbs. 186 to 241 lbs.
5′ 7″ 121 to 153 lbs. 159 to 185 lbs. 191 to 249 lbs.
5′ 8″ 125 to 158 lbs. 164 to 190 lbs. 197 to 256 lbs.
5′ 9″ 128 to 162 lbs. 169 to 196 lbs. 203 to 263 lbs.
5′ 10″ 132 to 167 lbs. 174 to 202 lbs. 209 to 271 lbs.
5′ 11″ 136 to 172 lbs. 179 to 208 lbs. 215 to 279 lbs.
6′ 140 to 177 lbs. 184 to 213 lbs. 221 to 287 lbs.
6′ 1″ 144 to 182 lbs. 189 to 219 lbs. 227 to 295 lbs.
6′ 2″ 148 to 186 lbs. 194 to 225 lbs. 233 to 303 lbs.
6′ 3″ 152 to 192 lbs. 200 to 232 lbs. 240 to 311 lbs.
6′ 4″ 156 to 197 lbs. 205 to 238 lbs. 246 to 320 lbs.
BMI 19 to 24 25 to 29 30 to 39

20 responses to “New Year’s Resolution: Anybody Want to Lose Weight with Me?

  1. This little piggy will join you. I’ll start with 5/0/5 and hopefully those numbers will shrink each week. After I lose the initial 5 pounds of unnecessary blubber, I’ll evaluate to see if I think I ‘d like to try for more. To help me stay on track, I’m going to confess any cheating I do. Would anybody like to join me in this extra step? My 2015 resolution is “reduce the caboose!”

    • You bet I will! So far, I’ve had no infractions, but I will confess any cheating too, but nobody else needs to join us in this extra, painful step!

  2. I will give it a try! It’s the same food restrictions I’ve been planning to employ, and some accountability should help as well. I will focus on 10# increments, and hopefully be able to repeat that two more times!

  3. I would like to join. 26/0/26. Thank you for the chart. I have used an app on my phone called Lose It!. It is free and it helps with a place to track your progress. It also has a section that analyzes the nutritional content of food including the most popular restaurants. This will be fun. Looking forward to each Wednesday!

    • This is awesome, Bren! Is the Lose It! app available to anybody for free, or is it a special app you buy? Do you have to have a cell phone?

      • benedictbrenda

        Lose It! is free although they will try to sell you the premium version. I’ve always used the free version. I have it on my cell phone but you can also access it on the web. I love the app on the phone because it has a scan function. I can scan the bar code on any food and it gives me the nutritional content of that food. You can find it at http://www.loseit.com/.

        I just scanned all the foods I used for my breakfast. Makes it so easy. I’d be glad to write a short user’s manual on Lose It! if there is interest.

      • Thank you for the offer! If sounds like it would really valuable, although I don’t have a cell phone that has apps or internet. Do you think it would be useful enough at home? If so, I’d like to know more. If not, then let’s see if others with sophisticated cell phones ask for more. That’s a very kind offer!

  4. Ok, I’m in. This is not going to be easy for me since I get overwhelmed by the total # I need to lose to be “healthy normal” according to charts. So, I’m going to just start with 20 lbs. Oh, I also have used the Lose It! app and like it a lot. It works well when I use it. 😜 So for me 20/0/0. Right? Want to lose 20, have lost nothing this week since just starting, and have nothing accumulated since I’m just starting. Right? I’m a little confused by the 3rd #. See you Wednesday!

    • Ruth, Glad to hear you are on board. This should be fun.

    • Awesome, Ruth! Yes, your numbers would read 20/0/20. The third number reflects how much you still want to lose. So, if (for example) you can lose 0.5 pound this week, this coming Wednesday your numbers would read 20/0.5/19.5…because you’d want to lose 19.5 pounds more. I’m so excited to have you join us! I remember you as a beautiful, slender teenager! Time flies! 🙂

  5. My current goal is to be OVERWEIGHT and not obese so I think that’s an excellent start for this year. I believe my numbers would be 23/0/23 to start. Thanks for letting me know about this. I’m looking forward to our success.

  6. I’d love to lose 10 kilos for a start. Trouble is that I love bread and potoatoes. Anyone know a diet where they are included?

    • I don’t, but what if you just gave up desserts? I am such a dessert freak that I’d probably lose weight if I just gave up desserts, but I’m not as crazy about carbs, so I figured if I was giving up my favorite, I’d rather also give up my second favorite and perhaps lose more faster. Or, what about giving up deserts and other carbs but allowing yourself potatoes and bread? Want to try something like that? My theory is that everybody is a little different in their needs and tastes, and that a good weight loss program somehow provides for enough of the essential “goodness” of life that we can stick with it.

      • benedictbrenda

        Another way to approach giving up potatoes and bread is just to give them up on a limited basis. That is, allow your self to eat them for 5 meals a week or whatever number you feel you can live with. Even replacing potatoes and bread with something else for one meal a week would be a step in the right direction.

  7. Kathi, Is this where we are going to share our results? My numbers for today are 26/2/24. Looking forward to hearing from everyone.

    • HI Brenda,

      Yes and no. I’ll post in a few minutes for this Wednesday. Would you be willing to resubmit your numbers then. My thought is that each week we’ll report in on this week’s post. I’m hoping to have the post ready by noon each Wednesday, Lord willing! BTW, WOW! Good for you for losing 2 pounds already!

  8. Last year I embraced JJ Virgin’s philosophy of eliminating Corn, Dairy, Eggs, Gluten, Peanuts, Soy, Sugar and artificial sugar substitutes and had a lot of fun creating new recipes and ideas. Her new book THE SUGAR IMPACT DIET is kicking off and I’m on board! (BTW, I finished 2014 with 14-lb lost – including about a 20-lb increase in muscle.) So…
    This is what she’s up to this year….
    I know you’re busy, but tomorrow is one of the most important
    Live Q&A’s I’ve ever done. This is what you NEED to know to live a life
    without sugar cravings, exhaustion, belly fat, diabetes, heart disease
    … all of which start with sugar.

    Are you ready to find out exactly where to begin live
    without this albatross around your neck?

    CLICK HERE FOR WEBINAR DETAILS (and add it to your calendar)
    Blessings, JJ

    PS: Want to change lives AROUND YOU? LINK
    Share this link with those you love and post it to your Facebook wall.
    http://sugarimpactdiet.com/

    • I’m on the road without internet (except for these few minutes), but it sounds interesting, and maybe some others will want to watch. Thanks for sharing!

Please share your thoughts too!

