Come a Little Bit Closer

Bavarian Alps copyAre you timid? I doubt many people would characterize me as timid, and I used to consider myself a bit of a Fearless Fosdick, but in truth I’m very timid around mechanical things. My sister’s husband used to tease that Annie couldn’t even be trusted to use a can opener; I’m in that league…always afraid of hurting something or breaking something, so if things don’t work with a very gentle touch, I stop and feel unsure about what to do next. It’s basically a lack of trust in the sturdiness of the object and a lack of confidence in my ability to interact successfully.

Case in point: My car was fine…just had a defective sensor, as Alan suspected. My car was repaired; I returned their lovely loaner and thanked them, but when I pulled up to the garage door in my own car to leave, expecting it to open as they’d told me it would, nothing happened. I looked for any type of switch on the wall that might open the door, but there was none. I waited, thinking someone might have to press a button for me to open it remotely. Still nothing. After a minute or two, I got out and asked a mechanic what I needed to do in order to open the door. “Oh, just drive just a little bit closer. You have to be within a foot or two of the door before it’ll open.”

Ah! I got in, drove gingerly forward, and voilà, the door opened as if by magic!

How about you? Is it possible you’ve got an ingenious mechanical brain and never fear to experiment with something until you can make it work…but feel timid about spiritual things? If so, come a little bit closer! If you think there might be a God, but he seems remote, and you’re not sure how to “get the door open”…to access him, “draw near to God, and he will draw near to you” (James 4:8).  You may lack trust in the character of God (blaming him for the evil in our world, which he allowed out of respect for our freedom to choose), or you may lack confidence in your ability to interact successfully with him (not understanding the infinite depth of his love for us), but he invites us to seek him with all our hearts, and he promises that—if we will—we will find him: “And you will seek Me and find Me, when you search for Me with all your heart” (Jeremiah 29:13).

“Let us therefore come boldly to the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy and find grace to help in time of need” (Hebrews 4:16).

Please share your thoughts too!

