The Red Triangle

mirrorWith seven kids, mothers don’t usually have a car of their own and are happy to have access to a family car “whenever,” so it was an over-the-top gift when Alan pretty much forced me to get a beautiful, new (late model used, but new to us) car last summer. It rides like a dream, and so I was surprised and alarmed to see the “engine” light burning reddish-orange on my dash last week. Alan assured me it was probably just a sensor failure, and thankfully, the car is still under warranty, so I was able to take it to the dealer and have them fix it. They gave me a “loaner” car to use until it’s fixed…something I’ve never experienced before! Exterior-rear-view-mirror The car they lent me was a brand new 2015 version of my car, but as I drove back home on the freeway, I kept seeing a very unsettling reddish light glowing off and on at the bottom corner of my rear-view mirror. At first it was frightening to me, and I wasn’t sure what it meant or if I was doing something wrong with this brand new car that didn’t even belong to me, but then I realized  it was a warning light to indicate something was in my blind spot. Flat out ingenious!!

I don’t know about you, but I love being warned when there’s something coming up behind me that I can’t see but could prove deadly if I fail to notice and respond correctly. For me, this is one of the (many) wondrous things about the Bible. If you’re not used to it, you might find the Bible distracting, annoying, or frightening, but it’s full of wisdom and warnings. Meditating on the Word of God is like driving with a great rear-view mirror. If we keep checking and responding accordingly, we’ll avoid some tragic accidents as we travel through life.

“But he who looks into the perfect law of liberty and continues in it, and is not a forgetful hearer but a doer of the work, this one will be blessed in what he does.”
(James 1:25, NKJV)

Please share your thoughts too!

