I’m Thankful For…

They say that if you take the time to verbalize thanks for 3 blessings each night you’ll become a perceptibly happier person, and so, I’m going to make a more conscious effort to count my blessings night by night! Here are my 3 in honor of Thanksgiving Day in America:
I am thankful for life, liberty, and the freedom to pursue happiness.  Baby Samuel Azariah
Life! I am so grateful that our newest grandchildren, Baby Samuel Azariah, is alive after 3 days in this world as a super preemie. “Samuel” means “asked of God,” and he has been fervently asked for these past 5 years! “Azariah” means “God helps,” and we are throwing ourselves on God’s mercy to help this tiny babe thrive. Life is an incredible gift from God, and He wants us not only to live, but to live abundantly! Jesus explained:  “I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly” (John 10:10). Thank you for life! FredI am also thankful for eternal life. Yesterday a dear, saintly believer was ushered from this life to the next. He was the man I mentioned on my November 3 post…diagnosed with stage 4 lung cancer and passed from death to eternal life in less than a month. I know that he is now safely in the arms of Jesus and the presence of God: “And I give unto them eternal life; and they shall never perish, neither shall any man pluck them out of my hand” (John 10:28). Thank you, dear Father, not only for the incredible gift of life here on earth, but the promise of eternal life in heaven with you for all who will accept the gift of salvation through faith in Christ! “For the wages of sin is death; but the gift of God is eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord” (Romans 6:23). Seagulls in flightI’m also very grateful for liberty…the freedom to soar, glide, come and go freely. Sea gull flyingMy heart aches for the millions of people who are not free in this life, but I also know that our spirits can be free regardless of our physical circumstances: “If the Son therefore shall make you free, you shall be free indeed” (John 8:36). Seagulls landing for lunchI’m also extremely grateful for the chance to pursue happiness. I notice that our constitution doesn’t promise happiness, but only the right to pursue it within the bounds of the law. Happiness means different things to different people, but I know that, for me, happiness is bound up in my relationship with God: “Happy is that people, whose God is the LORD” (Psalm 144:15). Great Stirrup Cay      I was happy last week spending time with my family in a tropical paradise, Parents with 27.5 week preemiebut I’m every bit as happy (& more so) here at home, delighting in our new baby! Parrot Upside Down              May the Lord bless you with your own unique experience of life
—eternal life—liberty, and happiness this Thanksgiving and every day! Ducks in snow

“Even though it’s only Thanksgiving Day, it’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas.” (Inspired by Richard Roeper…it’s snowy here!)

“You can tell you ate too much for Thanksgiving when you have to let your bathrobe out.” Jay Leno

“I approximated the Black Friday experience at home by hurling myself into a wall a number of times and then ordering online.” Kumail Nanjiani

Please share your thoughts too!

