Not by Might, Nor by Power

Do you ever think it’s all up to you and then realize it’s really not? I’m all about trying my hardest and doing my best, but the truth is…my best effort is simply not enough to actually accomplish whatever it’s in my heart to do. Do you find that true for you too? Life is always bigger and the challenges greater than they appear. For instance, I love writing this blog and imagine that if I do a good job, the blog will flourish and more people will read it and find encouragement. Only, last week I felt convicted that my job was to concentrate on my brothers and sister during a wonderful week of reunion and not take any time to write posts (other than a couple I prepared ahead). Still, at the end of the week, instead of having very few viewers, the blog hit a new high, was visited over 1800 times and had a dozen new followers. That is a perfect example of the obvious: God is ultimately the bottom line in life. Whatever good happens is by his grace and mercy. Hard work is good, but God’s grace is the true determiner of what will happen. DSC03053Now, that was a very tiny test last week. This morning was a huge test for our family: After days of battling pre-eclampsia, my daughter-in-law had an emergency C-section, and we’re now a rejoicing family with a new 27-week-0ld baby in our midst! Baby Samuel weighs 1 pound, 9 oz. and is just a touch over 1 foot long. His hand is about the size of his father’s thumb nail. He’s in the NICU (Neonatal Intensive Care Unit) all hooked up and looking so tiny & fragile.DSC03050  (Here he is with his dad [and my son], Daniel.)  I am praying like fury for this little life (as well as for Brianna’s recovery), and I know that Daniel, Brianna, our family, and everybody in the NICU is working like crazy to help him survive. But, ultimately, his tiny little life—like all of ours—is in the hand of an infinitely loving and powerful Father who cares more about him than even we do and will provide for him as only God is able. For us trembling humans, it’s the fear v.s. faith trial. May we all choose faith! All prayers appreciated! Thank you. 🙂DSC03061

“Not by might, nor by power, but by my spirit, saith the Lord of hosts.”
(Zachariah 4:6)

8 responses to “Not by Might, Nor by Power

  1. Tiny Samuel! Precious known one, knit by the Father
    Receiving so much love and being bathed in prayer
    In the palm of His loving, nail scarred hand
    and each of you in our hearts

  2. Kathi, We are praying like crazy for your family. Bonnie Washburn has two grandsons in the NICU right now. Both at 27 weeks about 6 weeks ago. They are doing very well and are in the three pound range now. Samuel looks so precious.

  3. Thanks for your prayers and encouragement, Brenda! I’ll pass this along to Daniel. So glad Bonnie’s little guys are thriving, too!!! God is so good.

  4. Praying like mad for mother and baby!

    • Thank you, Sarah! Things are looking good this afternoon. Brianna’s stats are better, and Samuel’s lungs look a little less hazy on X-ray.

  5. “How precious is Your lovingkindness, O God!
    And the children of men take refuge in the shadow of Your wings.” Psalm 36:7

    I claimed this promise for our Little One, and I’m praying this for Samuel, Brianna, and Daniel, too!

Please share your thoughts too!

