The Armstrongs’ 2014 ArtPrize Entry

One of my girlfriends emailed me yesterday: “Where’ your ArtPrize entry? It’s not listed anywhere!” Ah,tis true. Tis true, ‘tis pity. And pity ’tis ‘tis true. After spending hundreds of hours and even more money, I discovered that one of my own children was investing in prize artwork due to be finished at the same time, and they requested my presence and assistance. So, what’s a mom to do? Take care of her kids or pursue her own creative dreams? I’ll tell you what this mom did. She laid aside her personal ambitions in order to love and nurture her own kids. Been doing that for nearly forty years, ever since Aaron was born on my 25th birthday, and I’m still making those hard choices that make me feel like I’m fulfilling God’s calling on my life to love the Lord above all else and to love others as I love myself. Furthermore, I keep feeling peaceful, content, and very blessed…like this is actually what God created me to do! So, I am hoping to enter ArtPrize in the fall of 2015 (unless something else comes up that’s more important to me), but meanwhile, I thought I’d show you a few pictures of the results of Michael and Grace’s creative efforts: PaladinThis masterpiece really comes from the hand of God down to Michael and Grace, although—of course—they also worked very hard as co-authors and finishers of their baby’s conception, progress, and birth!   🙂 IMG_1671His name is Paladin Wake, and Michael explains it this way: “Paladin, the name, comes from the 12 knights of Charlemagne–similar, in literature, to King Arthur’s knights of the round table–who were called paladins. In role playing game culture, the paladins are inspired by J.R.R. Tolkien’s Aragorn–a ranger/knight who is both warrior and wizard–when needed. So, for us the name represents not just a warrior for righteousness in the world, but one who is spiritually capable as well.”

IMG_1726              Needless to say, he’s a real hit with all the kids, from the oldest  IMG_1647  to the youngest! IMG_1739I don’t think I could come up with any entry into ArtPrize to compete with this in a million years, do you?IMG_1715Grace’s parents have both graduated to glory, so I have the special privilege of being first in line for “Nana” duty when Grace and Mike have babies, IMG_1664and I wouldn’t trade this privilege for all the tea in China or all the art prizes in the U.S.! IMG_1668Besides, watching babies is way more fun than watching pictures! IMG_1673“Beloved, if God so loved us, we ought also to love one another” (1 John 4:11).

2 responses to “The Armstrongs’ 2014 ArtPrize Entry

  1. Lovely! Just gorgeous!
    Love Sarah

  2. Yvonne Albright

    Precious, precious pictures.
    Love, Yvonne

Please share your thoughts too!

