Ben Carson: Gifted Hands and a Gifted Heart

Gifted HandsI am always on the lookout for great videos to watch…and I’m always years behind. BUT, on the off chance that you haven’t seen this one yet, I would like to recommend Gifted Hands: The Ben Carson Story, a super inspiring 2009 production starring Cuba Gooding, Jr. that tells the story of one of America’s greatest physicians. We just saw it last weekend, and I’m still glowing every time I think about the story. Ben Carson was born in 1951 (one year younger than I am) an Afro-American kid without a dad who grew up in Detroit. His mom dropped out of school in third grade, and Ben seemed to be headed in the same Ben Carson 3direction…but instead,  he ended up as the Director of Pediatric Neurosurgery at Johns Hopkins University…world renowned for his brilliance and abilities as a neurosurgeon. But, if you want to know just how it happened, you’ll have to watch the movie. 🙂 The story was especially touching to me, because when I was in graduate school here in Michigan teaching introductory psychology, I had a student I will call Max, a huge but winsome Afro-American from Detroit who played on the football team. Max listened intently in class and could answer my questions, but he flunked his first exam. When I met with Max to figure out the problem, I discovered that he had never learned to read! I tried to help him, but my point is this: Ben Carson’s childhood story isn’t unique at all! How many “Bens” are out there who could do great things if people will encourage them??12818414.jpgDr. Carson just retired from his medical career this past month (July 1, 2013) and is praying about his future direction. Last February Dr. Carson was the keynote speaker at the White House Prayer Breakfast, and I just got invited yesterday to hear him speak in Washington D.C. soon. (I can’t go, even though I’d love to!) Someone asked me the other day how I’d feel about having Ben Carson for president. My thought is this: Dr. Carson has said that he’ll leave the decision about whether or not to go into politics “in the hands of God.” Ah, and God’s hands are the most gifted of all! If God directs Dr. Carson to go into politics, I think there’s a high likelihood that I will support him, because he’s proven over the past 50 years that he’s a man of integrity who not only has gifted hands, but a gifted head and a gifted heart. I think Dr. Carson has the potential to be a true statesman who could become knowledgeable and wise concerning political affairs, and that would definitely be worth supporting!

“By wisdom a house is built, and by understanding it is established; by knowledge the rooms are filled with all precious and pleasant riches. A wise man  is full of strength, and a man of knowledge enhances his might”               (Proverbs 24:3-5).

3 responses to “Ben Carson: Gifted Hands and a Gifted Heart

  1. Pingback: The Obama administration is shaking America’s faith in government | God Bless America~~JESUS is our only Hope!!

  2. I just watched this last night with my wife. We have been following Dr. Carson ever since his White House Prayer Breakfast. He’s an amazing individual with a wonderful testimony. God bless and Take care.

Please share your thoughts too!

