Boston’s Skyline à la Claude Monet

Claude Monet (1840-1926) was the Father of French Impressionistic painting and one of my favorite painters. Monet was famous for painting his gorgeous gardens at Giverny and loved to paint the same landscape over and over again at different times of day and from various perspectives, delighting in the subtle  vicissitudes of light and dark, time and season. I had the rare privilege of holing up at the Cambridge Marriot last week writing while Alan attended Harvard’s Internal Medicine Review Course. I had inquired about getting “a room with a view,” but I was told that such rooms were an extra $200 (per night, mind you!), and so I politely deferred and expected to be looking at four walls for inspiration during the week. However, the Lord gave us this amazing room (at no extra charge) on the 16th floor, with its majestic views of the Charles River and the Boston skyline, and so I watched God’s glorious beauty unfold throughout each day and decided that I wanted to share this special gift with you too!Being October, the mornings often started clear and cold with a touch of steamascending in misty pillars. The sculling teams were out practicing almost as early as the sun rose, and they would race back and forth along the river during much of the morning. By midday, more of the water craft seemed to be tour boats, butby the golden hours of afternoon, sailboats began appearing.I thought the sailors were probably some of the elite young students from Harvard taking classes (as I’m sure the sculling teams were), but I later learnedthat classes are open to the public. Wouldn’t that be fun?!Of course, we are all limited by time and money, so sailing is something I’m not likely to enjoy any time soon, but I’m glad for those who can, and I’m glad I could watch those who could, and I’m thankful every day for the good things inlife that each and every one of us can enjoy, whether we’re riding, walking, or watching, and I hope that as the sun sets on our lives and the darkness closes in,we never let past pain or future anxieties rob us of present joys.(Picture from the Boston Globe by staff writer David L. Ryan)

It’s hard to imagine that just one week later, one of the most catastrophic storms to ever hit Boston, Hurricane Sandy, would devastate a 1,000 mile stretch of New England coast, take over 100 lives, leave millions without electricity, cause blizzards in West Virginia and 20-foot waves as far away as Lake Michigan, leaving a trail of damages estimated at 30 billion dollars. Are you alive and well?
      May we enjoy each day we have to the full. Things may change tomorrow!“Enjoy life with the wife whom you love, all the days of your vain life that he has given you under the sun, because that is your portion in life” (Ecclesiastes 9:9).

5 responses to “Boston’s Skyline à la Claude Monet

  1. Annette Feinberg

    Amazing pictures of Boston. Thank you so much for sharing and yes if we are alive and well, we have VERY much to be thankful for.

  2. Ah, those pictures made me happy! I love Boston. We’ve only had the pleasure of visiting there three times. What a gorgeous skyline, and all those different times of day! Magnificent! “I love that dirty water…” 🙂

  3. Every one of those pictures would make a wonderful postcard! I would love to visit Boston too, as I hear that the art galleries are fantastic!

    • They are. Also, there are so many beautiful buildings and gardens. It’s really a special place. The Trinity Church is still considered one of the 10 most attractive buildings in our country!

Please share your thoughts too!

