Autumn Day in Provincetown and Cape Cod National Seashore

Last week Alan attended a medical conference in Boston, but we were able to slipaway early enough to enjoy a brief trip out to Cape Cod the weekend beforehand. Cape Cod is one of the world’s largest barrier reefs. It looks like a long, sandy boot (almost 560 miles of shoreline) sticking out into the ocean, and although its highest point is only 306 feet above sea level, the Cape shields much of Massachusetts from rough North Atlantic storm waves. There are nearly aquarter of a million year-round residents, but the Cape is teeming with tourists in the summer. However, in the fall, Cape Cod National Park’s 40-miles of beach becomes a paradise for those of us who are restored by tranquility in nature. When we visited, it was cool, clear, and calm… and in fact, stunningly beautiful!We drove straight to Provincetown at the very end tip of the Cape. Provincetown is a tiny little resort of just about 3,000 and is known for upscale tourists, seafood, beaches, harbors, artists, and tolerance of homosexuals (as we noticed and later learned). We enjoyed meandering along the pier, soaking up the crisp morning sunshine and watching the fishermen hauling in their lobster traps and  tying up their boats…far below the pier because it was low tide! As it wasalmost lunch time, we asked a friendly fisher woman where to go for the “bestlobster in town” (since there were myriad choices). “The Lobster Pot!” she exclaimed without a moment’s hesitation. Wow! It was every bit as incredible as it looks! 🙂 Afterward, we took a stroll along the neatly manicured streets of thislovely little resort community, still quite alive with tourists and full of interestingboutiques where local artists showcased and sold their wares. And then, later, inthe warmer afternoon breezes, I took a hike along the seaside while my belovedhad an afternoon siesta in the car. At first I was really disappointed, since I’d looked forward to our hiking together and couldn’t believe he’d actually prefer sleep to enjoying the great out of doors (since that was the goal and highpoint of the trip from my standpoint), but then I remembered that while my son Jon and I ate bread and water to save time while traveling the Iberian Peninsula, Alan and Kathy stopped us in our tracks once we met them in Paris, pointing out that some people prefer fine culinary feasts to fine visual feasts! So then, I decided hewasn’t just being a killjoy and a crab, and I let him sleep while he let me hike.To each his own. Live and let live. While I walked, I remembered the fun I’d had years ago camping at Cape Cod with my brother Wolle. We went digging for clams and one afternoon he even fished a baby sun shark out of a tidal pool and we grilled him for our supper! (Very bony, but good otherwise.) Such fun times!All in all, it was a perfectly wonderful day! But, that was last week. As I write, the category 1 Hurricane Sandy is churning her way toward a 700-mile stretch of Northeast coast (including Cape Cod) with 90+ mile-an-hour winds that may collide with an arctic storm moving in from the west, all under a full moon, making the storm surges even more deadly and threatening 50 million people in the most population-dense corridor of our nation. Will you pray with me for mercy and protection for all those at risk?

“Behold, as the eyes of servants look unto the hand of their masters, and as the eyes of a maiden unto the hand of her mistress; so our eyes wail upon the LORD our God, until he have mercy upon us” (Psalm 123:2).

9 responses to “Autumn Day in Provincetown and Cape Cod National Seashore

  1. Beautiful, beautiful photos. We love the Cape Cod area, but have only been there once. I love Boston and the surrounding areas of Massachusetts. In fact, I pretty much love all of New England. There are times I wished I lived there. Now, of course, is not one of them. I’ve been praying for everyone over there, as well. Blessings!

    • Thank you! Me too! I always wanted to live in Boston as a girl, but I am totally content now in Michigan and just love it. I’ve also been praying for the folks out east. My brother lives in Manhattan and is out of power…along with millions of others, I fear!

  2. Pingback: Grenke the (up and coming) Great | Rhyme N Review

  3. Pingback: Paying the Price (A Tribute to Veterans) | Rhyme N Review

  4. Pingback: Behind Blue-Green Eyes [Poetry: Anytime...] | Rhyme N Review

Please share your thoughts too!

