The Trees in Israel


Since May 14, 1948, when Israel became an independent state, the Israelis have planted more than a quarter of a billion trees!I had a spiritual mom who was a Messianic Jew, and every year she would have some trees planted in Israel in my honor of my birthday.Everywhere we went, I would imagine, “I wonder if these are some of the trees…”We visited in the fall, so it was just time for the harvest, and all the trees were heavy with fruit. (These are date palms.) What a joy to see Israel blooming after so much heartache and desolation!

So shall my word be that goeth forth out of my mouth: it shall not return unto me void, but it shall accomplish that which I please, and it shall prosper in the thing whereto I sent it. For ye shall go out with joy, and be led forth with peace: the mountains and the hills shall break forth before you into singing, and all the trees of the field shall clap their hands. Instead of the thorn shall come up the fir tree, and instead of the brier shall come up the myrtle tree: and it shall be to the Lord for a name, for an everlasting sign that shall not be cut off.” (Isaiah 55:11-13).

3 responses to “The Trees in Israel

  1. I just learned the other week that Israel had been heavily wooded since ancient times until just the last century when the trees were all cut down for fuel. I guess Israel’s great push to plant trees is an attempt to return to the natural state of the land.

  2. I had no idea! It seems so dry there, but there were lots of wooded areas in biblical times, now that you mention it. At any rate, the north-western areas that we visited are looking wonderful!

  3. that’s great! So many things are happening there.

Please share your thoughts too!

