Winter Snow Birds

Birds Flying SouthWhen I was young, I used to admire the “lucky” snowbirds from our church who IMG_3686would spend their winters in Florida, but I have to confess that I thought they IMG_3688were rich and entitled, and if I’d stopped to be truly honest about how I felt, I IMG_3691suspect I would have felt a bit critical of them for spending so much money.  IMG_3690And so, it is with a bit of chagrin that I admit to becoming a snow bird. IMG_3693Well, Alan’s still working full time, so we don’t really migrate to Florida for the IMG_3694 winter months, but he definitely relishes finding reasons for visiting! IMG_3700For many years we drove down in the van with our flock of seven children, IMG_3677but when there are just the two of us going for a conference, we love to fly!DSCN0736 It never ceases to amaze us how the landscape can change in just two hours,DSCN0729and how quickly the temperature rises 70° or moreDSCN0733…from dreary grey and bitter cold to sunshine and balmy breezes… DSCN0758 from frozen snowbanks to bursting flowers…DSCN0810from working out every night in our basement to swimming every afternoon…DSCN0804strapping on Yak Trax to trek our lane to slipping into sandals for a sunset stroll.DSCN0759I guess I deserve to be called a chicken or a turkey for taking off when I can, DSCN0802But I’ve really appreciated our opportunities to be like the snowbirds this winter!

         “What shall I render unto the LORD for all his benefits toward me?”      (Psalm 116:12)

5 responses to “Winter Snow Birds

  1. Hi Kathi,
    I think it’s great that you have the opportunity to accompany Alan on his trips. I’m sure there are many times in the past when you couldn’t because of family responsibilities. I say enjoy it while it lasts :-).
    Michael

    • How kind. Thank you, Michael. I have a very hard time relaxing and spending money when I consider the overwhelming needs of others around me and around the world, but it is a great privilege to be able to go!

  2. I agree with Michael. Enjoy.

  3. Pingback: Decrypting Bird Tracks in Snow » Rosslyn ReduxRosslyn Redux

Please share your thoughts too!

